My goals for music (life ambition thread)

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: My goals for music (life ambition thread)

ME: PRS Custom 22
    Rig: JCM800

My goals for music (life ambition thread)

Hello fellow forumites!

I've been able to do some much needed thinking the past few months, and I finally know what I want to do with my time. Being a young twenty-something who wasn't sure what he was going to do with his life, this is a complete breath of fresh air. I now have something to strive towards, a direction I'm headed in.

Some background:
    - I've been playing guitar for 11 years
    - I taught beginner guitarists in high school for 3 years
    - I've been in 3 semi-serious bands (playing what shows we could, no tours, some recording)
    - I took guitar lessons for 4 years
    - I'm finishing my diploma program in college for Social Service Worker
    - I actively volunteer with a youth after-school program

But Justin, what does this have to do with your goals?! Get to it, man!

OK! Here it is!

I want to be able to help low income families learn how to play instruments. My vision is to have a building where youth can come in, relax, and receive quality instruction in a safe environment. For a lot of people, money is what stands in the way of learning a musical instrument; I want to work towards breaking down that barrier. I want a place where kids who otherwise wouldn't even touch a saxophone can learn how to play one. As much as I love rock music, I want to have a wide array of instruments available. I also envision having space for band practices and recording; I want to gather up kids with similar musical interests, and foster their creativity and get them into little bands or even solo projects.