Do any of you guys/gals...

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Do any of you guys/gals...

ME: PRS SE Custom
    MA: Yamaha FS720S
    Rig: Vox VT30

Do any of you guys/gals... the guitar diligently without the ultimate goal of doing it for a living?

I recently came to the realization that I practice more and/or play more (and have more fun!) when I'm not focused on the end product of all the work you'd put in to be in a band big enough to make a living from playing the guitar. It's a strange thing for me because ever since I started playing I thought I wanted to do it for a living and nothing else. Not so sure anymore...

Anyone feel the same way?

ME: Stuff
    MB: More Stuff
    Rig: Extra Stuff

I don't have a band really, and I've no illusion that one will have me or that I'll find musicians to start one with, so I'm doing it purely for the fun. I still try to do it as best I can, though. That's the enjoyable part for me.

ME: Gibson
    MA: Fred Welker
    MB: USA Jazz Special
    Rig: ENGL

I'm 38 and I gave up the "Rockstar" dream years ago. I still play the odd gig here and there, usually as a fill in for friends here in Nashville, but I got soooo much more enjoyment out of guitar, recording and music in general when I stopped being dependent on it.
    The streets are extended gutters and the gutters are full of blood and when the drains finally scab over, all the vermin will drown. The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout "Save us!"... and I'll look down and whisper "No.” ― Alan Moore

ME: 02 NAMM Jackson RR
    MA: Takamine 12
    MB: Spector Euro 5
    Rig: SLO|Road King|Überschall