Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 8 12345678 LastLast

Thread: New Members! Heavy Metal Amp Guide

ME: Rich Mahogany
    MA: Godin A6 Ultra
    MB: SR500
    Rig: Massive/Boobies

New Members! Heavy Metal Amp Guide

It seems as though we have a lot of new members who are asking the same question, "I'm new to expensive amplifiers, and I want something that will sound great!" Well, I've found that more often than not, each member will give his own take on what he feels is the best amp out there, either based on the information you give, or lack thereof, and it tends to be the same good advice. So, why not have it in one place?

I want to have everyone post up their own short Heavy Metal Amp Buyer's Guide. Just a few quick words on what you've used in the past, how you arrived at the gear you're currently using, where you want to go, and why you've taken the path you have.

Whether you want a classic metal sound, something darker, or something tighter, we've got a lot of pooled experience to set you on the right path.

ME: Les Paul
    MA: Les Paul
    MB: Les Paul
    Rig: Mini Rec

This thread will be true.

I started off with a Fender Hot Rod Deluxe, and quickly learned that it couldn't make me sound like James Hetfield - too "hairy", no "grunt" or really thick saturation. As I was 16, that's all I wanted. Natural impulse: add a Boss Metal Zone and suck the mids.

Tones easily dialed: Vintage clean tones, SRV, Pantera (with MT-2)
    Time satisfied with this rig: 6 years.