ENGL Invader 100

Best Price : 1799

VHT Sig:X

Best Price : 1467

Splawn Nitro

Best Price : 1850

Mesa Boogie Stiletto

Bets Price : 1674

I'm trying to decide between these 4 amps for my next purchase. I'm just not sure if all (or any) of them can produce the sounds I want. I'd like the amp to be able to do a really modern tight, Sikth style rhythm sound along with a more hard-rock Stone God's-esque rhythm when brutalness isn't required. Also, a really smooth creamy lead tone and a nice chimey clean.

Price is of course a factor as I'm a reasonably poor student but I don't mind saving for that extra while to get the right amp.

With the Engl I'm slightly worried that it would be to compressed for the clean and hardrock rhythm sounds. I've heard that Engls are very compressed amps.

The VHT I've heard feels very very open and dry, possibly to much for my tastes? Or possibly to much so that it sounds thin and doesn't 'feel' right when playing.

The stiletto, I have no idea about this. The only think I know is that after playing a tremoverb, I don't like recto's, sound or feel. Is the stiletto just a british sounding recto? If so that will probably remove it from my list.

The Splawn I'm just thinking it might not be versitile enough?

Can anyone shed some light on this situation for me?

I've not played the others, but the Invader is one of the few Engls which isn't a wash of compression. Its definitely their most organic amp I've played, and the only one I haven't is the Blackmore

ME: Agile Pendulum
    MA: Ibanez EW20ASENT
    MB: Ibanez
    Rig: Line6 Pod Farm

Maybe take the stilleto off the list and ad the Axe-fx?

ME: PRS Custom 22
    Rig: JCM800

they're all amazing amps: and they're all different flavours of awesome.

you'd have to pick the one that sounds best to you.
    Sparrows (Space Punk, LOUD): www.sparrows613.com

ME: Jackson DKMGT
    MA: Martin GPCPA5K
    Rig: Mindy the Framus Dragon