The Heavy Metal Guitar Authority The Heavy Metal Guitar Authority           Join us on Facebook! Follow us on Twitter! MG on YouTube MG on Google+ MG on Pinterest MG Soundcloud Group 
Register Gallery Merch Patches Forums Home
Guitar: Gear Discussion Guitar amplifiers, cabinets, effects processors, pedals and everything else.


MIDI switchable graphic EQ
     
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-18-2011, 11:23 PM   #1
 
noodles's Avatar
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage   MySpace

Bring Me His Head


Joined: Sep 2008
Member Number: 21
Home: Woodbridge, VA
Real Name: Dave
ME: KxK ProtoVii-7
MA: Martin D-28
Rig: Mesa/Boobies Stiletto
30,491 Posts
Gallery: 1
Thanked 3,487 Times in 917 Posts
Default MIDI switchable graphic EQ


mEQ : MIDI Controlled Equalizer

I've been looking for a way to fatten up the leads on the Stiletto, since I have to split duties between rhythm and lead on channel 2. What works for a rhythm sound winds up being too harsh on the top end. I've tried several OD/Distortion pedals, and while I can get a tone I like, breaks in playing causes howling, uncontrollable feedback. This looks like a promising solution to my dilemma.

My model is going to be a 7 band, while everything up until now has been a 5 band. I don't necessarily need 7 bands, but he had the first one ready to go, and I didn't feel like getting in line behind three other customers. Plus, he cut me a nice discount to be the beta tester.


Noodles
Division: American Metal without the suck.
kxksales@gmail.com

So live for today,
Tomorrow never comes.
Die young, die young,
Can't you see the writing in the air?
Die young, gonna die young,
Someone stopped the fair.
noodles is offline  
 
Reply With Quote
Thanked by:
Old 02-18-2011, 11:33 PM   #2
 
Matt C's Avatar
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage   MySpace   Facebook

Fool's Game


Joined: Jun 2006
Member Number: 105
Home: Earth
Real Name: ¿Matt?
ME: 02 NAMM Jackson RR
MA: Takamine 12
MB: Spector Euro 5
Rig: Road King | Überschall
16,218 Posts
Gallery: 1
Thanked 1,021 Times in 240 Posts
Default

NO MIDZ
Matt C is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 12:01 AM   #3
 
ohio_eric's Avatar
Send PM    Add to friends      MySpace   Facebook

Web Head


Joined: Sep 2008
Member Number: 20
Home: Ohio
Real Name: Eric
ME: Schecter Loomis 7
Rig: Boss GT-8
10,097 Posts
Gallery: 0
Thanked 2,795 Times in 771 Posts
Default

That looks pretty sweet and a great way to basically add another channel or twenty to an amp.

The only proof he needed for the existance of God was music.
Kurt Vonnegut Jr.

Without music, life would be a mistake.
Friedrich Nietzsche
ohio_eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 12:38 AM   #4
 
noodles's Avatar
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage   MySpace

Bring Me His Head


Joined: Sep 2008
Member Number: 21
Home: Woodbridge, VA
Real Name: Dave
ME: KxK ProtoVii-7
MA: Martin D-28
Rig: Mesa/Boobies Stiletto
30,491 Posts
Gallery: 1
Thanked 3,487 Times in 917 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt C View Post
NO MIDZ
:regor:
noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 12:41 AM   #5
 
Chris's Avatar
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

Adminishredder
MG Server Overlord


Joined: Sep 2008
Member Number: 1
Home: Boston, MA
ME: Suhr / Carvin
MA: Martin DC-1E
MB: Warwick Corvette
Rig: Axe-Fx II / Recto 412
35,853 Posts
Gallery: 237
Thanked 11,273 Times in 2,603 Posts
Default

So the GMaj/2 can trigger presets on the EQ, yes? Why not just dial them into the GM2 instead, and just switch patches?
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 12:43 AM   #6
 
noodles's Avatar
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage   MySpace

Bring Me His Head


Joined: Sep 2008
Member Number: 21
Home: Woodbridge, VA
Real Name: Dave
ME: KxK ProtoVii-7
MA: Martin D-28
Rig: Mesa/Boobies Stiletto
30,491 Posts
Gallery: 1
Thanked 3,487 Times in 917 Posts
Default

Because this adds more blinky lights.
noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 12:46 AM   #7
 
Chris's Avatar
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage

Adminishredder
MG Server Overlord


Joined: Sep 2008
Member Number: 1
Home: Boston, MA
ME: Suhr / Carvin
MA: Martin DC-1E
MB: Warwick Corvette
Rig: Axe-Fx II / Recto 412
35,853 Posts
Gallery: 237
Thanked 11,273 Times in 2,603 Posts
Default

So basically, you'll have x_patch trigger x_eq_bank on this thing, yes? What are you using for an EQ now?
Chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2011, 12:54 AM   #8
 
noodles's Avatar
Send PM    Add to friends    Homepage   MySpace

Bring Me His Head


Joined: Sep 2008
Member Number: 21
Home: Woodbridge, VA
Real Name: Dave
ME: KxK ProtoVii-7
MA: Martin D-28
Rig: Mesa/Boobies Stiletto
30,491 Posts
Gallery: 1
Thanked 3,487 Times in 917 Posts
Default

It's two things, actually. First, this gives me the option of trying the EQ both before and after the preamp. Second, the EQ in the GMajor sounds like pureed shit. I kinda hoped they fixed in the 2.

Yes, you basically dial in the EQ profile you want for the channel you're on, or opt to bypass it completely. My favorite thing about MIDI is the pass through, so you can easily make a whole chain of stuff change together with one button.
noodles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
graphic, midi, switchable

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Related Products Discussed In This Thread

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MIDI problem - RJM Amp Gizmo not responding to Rolls Midi Buddy Oogadee Boogadee Guitar: Gear Discussion 3 01-22-2011 02:20 PM
Mighty MIDI Gurus, MIDI noob needs help Gearwhore20 Guitar: Gear Discussion 2 09-30-2009 03:16 AM
WTB Looking for Graphic and Holoflash Nightswans eelblack2 Amps & Gear For Sale / Trade / Wanted 42 03-25-2009 07:13 PM




The Heavy Metal Guitar Authority

Mai-Guitar  Eric Clemenzi Angel Vivaldi 
Fractal Audio Systems  Decibel Guitars NumbSkull Audio Production

Powered by vBulletin® - Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.6.0
All MG.ORG logos ©MG7 LLC and Darren Wilson

Links monetized by VigLink