Cabs with mono/stereo switch

   Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 15

Thread: Cabs with mono/stereo switch

  1. #1

    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Location: h

    iTrader: 0

    Cabs with mono/stereo switch

    Last edited by Mistaken89; 09-02-2013 at 02:57 AM.

  2. #2

    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: The house formerly known as the Haus
    ME: Ibanez S540LTD
    MA: Taylor Big Baby
    Rig: Laney GH50L

    iTrader: 13 (100%)

    You basically have the same thing as if you had 2 8 ohm speakers.
    R.I.P. Guitars Etc
    RHLC Chief Promotions Officer

  3. #3

    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Grays, England
    ME: LTD SC600 / UV7BK
    Rig: JMP-1>VHT 2/90/2>Zilla's

    iTrader: 7 (100%)

    So yes, set your head to 4ohms. Though unless you have a stereo head, there's nothing to gain from it, so you're better off just leaving it in mono mode.
    I'm so metal I shit bats

    My band > WALK IN COMA

  4. #4

    Join Date: Apr 2009
    Location: Ireland
    ME: Jackson Sl2H
    Rig: Engl/Marshall rack

    iTrader: 0

    I've never really seen anyone use a stereo cab to full effect, 2 cabs yes but never using both stereo sides of a cab. It confuses plenty of people I know though so they haven't a clue what way to plug their head in!
    My band Shardborne - Prog metal Free E.P Download here

  5. #5

    Join Date: Mar 2012
    Location: US East Coast
    ME: SVK Les Paul Custom
    MA: Washburn something
    MB: Charvel 1B
    Rig: Marshall 8100

    iTrader: 2 (100%)

    Stereo cabs are like stereo inout jacks.


    Nice grab though, hope it sounds good.
    Do you know what time it is? It's time to FARK SHEET ARRRRRP!!

  6. #6

    Join Date: May 2011
    Location: Wakefield, UK
    ME: Swirley Shirley
    MB: Shine POS
    Rig: SLO & MkIIC+

    iTrader: 2 (100%)

    I have a friend who has a really nice Ibanez starfield rack head that runs in stereo.

    He uses it quite well. He has his left hand cab running dry and the right cab with the effects on. I guess it helps when you have effects loops for each channel & OT too.
    Please visit and share my guitar gear & DIY Blog

    Also if you want a link slapping on there shoot me a PM

  7. #7

    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Soviet Canuckistan
    ME: Decibel Javelin
    MA: Ibanez AJ307CE
    MB: Fretless Precision mutt
    Rig: Mesa F-30

    iTrader: 3 (100%)

    Some people use racks and stereo power amps?

    Ideally, though, the speakers in a stereo cab should be in their own chambers.

  8. #8

    Join Date: Dec 2011
    Location: h

    iTrader: 0

    Last edited by Mistaken89; 09-02-2013 at 02:57 AM.

Similar Threads

  1. Convert a Mono cab to Mono/Stereo
    By Blankplank in forum Guitar: Pickups Discussion
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 02-05-2012, 08:47 PM
  2. FS Atomic Amps MB-50 Mono Block 50W Reactor power amp (EUROPE ONLY)
    By FrancescoFiligoi in forum Amps & Gear For Sale / Trade / Wanted
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-28-2011, 01:23 AM
  3. Wiring question: stereo/mono output switch
    By Leona in forum Music: Other Instruments
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-28-2011, 03:32 AM
  4. Converting 2x12 stereo cab to stereo/mono
    By Leon in forum Guitar: Tech, Electronics and DIY
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11-26-2010, 02:38 PM
  5. FT Brand New 5-way switch for 3-way switch (Blade)
    By Zero in forum Amps & Gear For Sale / Trade / Wanted
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 05-03-2010, 02:18 AM

Tags for this Thread

Fractal Audio Systems  Shred Training  Angel Vivaldi
Bowes Guitarworks  Decibel Guitars  NumbSkull Audio Production

VigLink badge