What strings do you use on your six?

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 7 1234567 LastLast

Thread: What strings do you use on your six?

ME: Les Paul Standard
    Rig: Randall RD45

What strings do you use on your six?

I'm a beginner, so I've only restrung my guitar twice now in the six months or so I've had it. I haven't had time to practice much til recently either. When I did begin increasing my practice time I went ahead and put a new set of Slinky Hybrids on (about 2 months ago) and they seemed to do pretty well until yesterday when I noticed my notes were sounding unusually flat/dead. I know two months sounds good, but keep in mind I'm a beginner just doing chord shapes, scales, changes and shit for the most part. Anyway, I bought a bunch of crap from Musician's Friend I needed, so I went ahead and got a three pack of GHS Boomers to try. I put those on last night and just wonder how well they will perform compared to the Slinkeys. I'm actually doing some rhythm and playing (well..think I am anyway lol) some tunes, so I think the recommended life is like a few weeks max before they crap out. This is on a PRS Soapbar2, and when I put the Slinkeys on I went for the Hybrids to get that heavier tone on the low E. However, the Boomers are 9-42s and actually sound chunkier to me. I dunno. I do know the PRS I have came with 9-42s originally. I wonder if that has something to do with it, and the fact is a dual P-90 pickup setup?

Anyway, what do you guys use, and what is your reasoning/experience/thoughts?

ME: JP6 / Carvin CS4
    MA: Martin DC-1E
    Rig: Axe-Fx II XL

10-46 Elixirs.

[VIDEO]http://www.amazon.com/Elixir-Strings-Electric-6-String-NANOWEB/dp/B0002E1O3G/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1360776057&sr=8-1&keywords=elixir+10-46]Amazon.com: Elixir Strings Electric Guitar Strings, 6-String, Light NANOWEB Coating: Musical Instruments[/VIDEO]

ME: Jackson AT Pro
    Rig: Rivera K Tre

Don't bother with anything else.

EXL 116 and EXL 110+ are my sets of choice.