New Line6 HD500x

   Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 33

Thread: New Line6 HD500x

  1. #1

    Join Date: Sep 2012
    Location: wickford
    ME: RG 1550
    MA: ROFL
    MB: Dafuq?!
    Rig: Mesa Mark IV, Recto 2x12

    iTrader: 1 (100%)

    New Line6 HD500x

    Hi all, not sure if anyone is aware of this, but i spotted this on a couple of other forums and haven't seen it mentioned anywhere on here, but if anyone out there is interested it seems Line6 are about to drop the replacement for the HD500 - imaginatively titled 'HD500X'. I've heard release is scheduled for late July.

    ** I havent seen anything official on this from Line6, so it could be one awesome, multi-forum troll**

    There are tons of features users have been asking for, and it seems that Line 6 have ignored almost everyone of them!

    in the new model we get LED rings around the footswitches, more routing and double the DSP for dual amps.

    sounds like a bit of a let down so far unless they are going to announce some proper features last minute.

    If had some new amp models, maybe better modelling, and user loadable IR's I'd be all over that like knockers in a wind tunnel. However the features list sounds pretty lacklustre.

    what do you guys think? (this was taken from the gearpage forum)

    Product Description
    Line 6 POD HD500X modeling guitar effects processor for the successor of the POD HD500

    - floor effects processor with amp modeling
    - 2x as much DSP processing power than the POD HD500 (! not DSP Limit message more)
    - more routing options
    - new and improved foot switches with beautiful LED ring
    - 256 pre-programmed presets and 512 self-programmable
    - amp models, 25 HD guitar amps, 1 HD bass amp
    - speaker cabinet models: 16 for guitar, one for bass (incl. 8 mic models)
    - impact Models: 100 + (from the M-series)
    - up to 8 effects simultaneously use
    - 8 programmable footswitches (preset selection or effect on / off)
    - Bank Up and Down buttons
    - TAP tempo
    - Looper: up to 48 seconds
    - Looper functions: Rec / Overdub, Play / Stop, 1/2 Speed, Reverse, Undo, Play Once, Pre / Post
    - controllers amp modeling: Drive, Bass, Mid, Treble, Presence, Volume, Master
    - Display: LCD with backlight
    - Tuner: Built-in, chromatic
    - instrument input: 1/4 "(6.35mm) jack
    - Expression Pedal: integrated, for example volume and wah
    - AUX Input: 1/4 "(6.35mm) jack
    - Microphone input: XLR, with preamp
    - Analog output: 2 x 1/4 "(6.35mm) jack
    - Headphone output: 1/4 "(6.35mm) stereo jack
    - XLR output: balanced L + R
    - S / PDIF Output: RCA (RCA), 24 bit
    - L6 LINK XLR connector for integration of Line 6 DT50 guitar amplifiers
    - Variax Digital Input (VDI ): digital input for Line 6 Variax guitars
    - stereo FX loop: 4x 1/4 "(6.35 mm) jack, 2x FX send / return
    - CD/MP3-ingang: 1/8 "(3.5mm) stereo jack
    - MIDI connectors: 5-pin MIDI In ​​and MIDI Out / Thru
    - USB Output: USB-B, software editor, software updates and Recording
    - external pedal input: 1/4 "(6.35 mm) jack
    - construction: metal chassis, pedal and switches
    - power supply: Line 6 power adapter included
    - Dimensions: 270 x 550 x 80 mm
    - Weight: 4.8 kg
    - Software Editor / Librarian included

  2. #2

    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Glasgow - Scotland
    ME: Suhr M5
    MB: Squire Jazz
    Rig: VHT Pittbull + Axe FX II

    iTrader: 3 (100%)

    still no on/off switch

    the extra processing will improve this unit a lot. I had quite a few instances where i maxed out the load on it and i dont even really use effects i was just using reverb and delay!?

  3. #3

    Join Date: Sep 2012
    Location: wickford
    ME: RG 1550
    MA: ROFL
    MB: Dafuq?!
    Rig: Mesa Mark IV, Recto 2x12

    iTrader: 1 (100%)

    Yeah, it will come in handy, but from what i've seen a lot of people only max out the DSP for dual amps, and thats mainly because they want to use 2 cabs at once because the stock ones are pretty pants.

  4. #4

    Join Date: Jun 2006
    Location: Earth
    ME: 02 NAMM Jackson RR
    MA: Takamine 12
    MB: Spector Euro 5
    Rig: SLO|Road King|Überschall

    iTrader: 10 (100%)

    Quote Originally Posted by Plezz View Post
    pretty pants.

  5. #5

    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Soviet Canuckistan
    ME: Decibel Javelin
    MA: Ibanez AJ307CE
    MB: Fretless Precision mutt
    Rig: Mesa F-30

    iTrader: 3 (100%)

    Dual processors would definitely improve my main criticism of the unit, but why not add new features (like a power switch)? Three years is a LONG time for an electronic product to be on the market with no significant updates. I guess we'll see how true the rumours are.

  6. #6

    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Faribault, MN
    ME: Charvel MetalCaster
    Rig: Line6/Carvin

    iTrader: 0

    My biggest pet peeve of the HD (especially the HD Pro) is the knobs are like regular knobs. They have a physical start and stop. When you rotate say the drive knob on an existing patch, it adjusts the setting to the position of the knob when movement is detected. So if I have a patch that has the gain set at 80%, but I turned the knob all the way to the left when it was off, when I turn the knob to adjust the gain it starts off at zero.

    I would much prefer it just take how much you adjusted the knob either way and apply that to the patch.

    This is a huge pain live when I just want to adjust a knob a little bit on the fly. I have no idea where it was in the patch because the knobs are not a real world indication of where it's actually set.

    Double the DSP will be nice. I don't use dual amps very often, but I tend to max out the DSP with the effects. Especially Spring Reverb which seem to use a lot of DSP.

  7. #7

    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: King of Prussia, PA
    ME: PRS CE22
    MA: Richard Cogger Classical
    MB: Fender Bulletbass
    Rig: Mesa Mark V/TA30

    iTrader: 3 (100%)

    ^potentiometers are generally much more reliable than rotary encoders. Of course they should perhaps have an option to do as you say. But I generally prefer it to be fixed anyways, as I want 100% gain to match the knob turned 100% and so forth.

  8. #8

    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: IL
    ME: JS2000/Warmoth
    MA: Seagull S6
    MB: Ibanez SRC6
    Rig: Mesa ROV25+V:25+Mesa Cab

    iTrader: 0

    I need a power switch, and I need the ability to load third party cabs. That's it. More DSP? Super. Give me my fucking Ownhammers on a POD HD, and I'll be way happier.
    Disclaimer: I work ultra part-time for a local music gear dealer

Similar Threads

  1. WTB Line6 G90 Wireless
    By DomitianX in forum Guitar Parts & Accessories For Sale / Trade / Wanted
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-15-2013, 09:05 PM
  2. FS Line6 Pod HD500
    By Clydefrog in forum Amps & Gear For Sale / Trade / Wanted
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-29-2012, 12:57 AM
  3. Line6 DT50
    By Soopahmahn in forum Guitar: Gear Discussion
    Replies: 51
    Last Post: 05-09-2011, 01:06 PM
  4. Man, line6 needs to get their shit together.
    By Leona in forum Guitar: Gear Discussion
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 07-23-2009, 02:35 PM
  5. Line6 POD Farm
    By Jeff in forum Music: Recording Studio
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 11-16-2008, 11:29 PM

Tags for this Thread

Fractal Audio Systems  Shred Training  Angel Vivaldi
Bowes Guitarworks  Decibel Guitars  NumbSkull Audio Production

VigLink badge