[Advice on how to] Pick a Pick?

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: [Advice on how to] Pick a Pick?

ME: Ibanez RGT42DXFM
    Rig: Peavey XXX>Marshall Slant

[Advice on how to] Pick a Pick?

Ok. I've been playing for roughly 8 years now, and have decided to go back and re-vamp my technique. I have used the (Dunlop) Jazz III (black, nylon) for years, but recently started using the (Dunlop) .88 mm Green Tortex Jazz picks. The only issue is, I've also started up using the Standard .73 mm Yellow Tortex picks as well; and I love them. (at least for rhythm playing)

To get to the question: What picks do you guys use, and why? I used the Jazz III because it made playing leads much easier for me, but my rhythm playing suffered, so I switched to the Green tortex to compensate. That was going well until my wrist started hurting, then I switched to the Standard Yellow Tortex. The Yellow one makes rhythm VERY easy, but leads are much harder. UGGGGH!
    I just want some advice/opinions on your pick choice and on where you think I should go with mine.

ME: Suhr Modern 7
    MA: Martin MC16-GTE
    MB: Dingwall Afterburner 5
    Rig: Mesa Roadster, Recto 4x12

Advice? Try as many as you can, expect to change your mind a million times, and eventually just hone in on something you like.

I'm using the white Metalguitarist.org jazz-sized picks right now, and basically I've found that something jazz-sized in the .7-1.0 range works pretty well for me.
    "They can kill you, but the legalities of eating you are a bit dicier." - David Foster Wallace

Thank you. And trust me, I've already changed my mind a million times. I really like jazz-sized picks, they just tend to hurt my wrist when I'm trying to trem-pick (especially palm-muted). One thing I know for sure is that I like the tone of Tortex picks more than any other material I've used.
    Last edited by maximusanubis999; 10-11-2013 at 03:50 PM.

ME: RGA121
    Rig: 6505+