New player looking for advice

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New player looking for advice

New player looking for advice

I have been playing guitar for 6 months. All I really know is power chords. When I try to play other chords, it just doesn't sound good for hard rock. All I want to do is write good music, but it just seems like at this point I'm having very little progress....Any suggestions?

ME: JP6 / Carvin CS4
    MA: Martin DC-1E
    Rig: Axe-Fx II XL

The only thing you can really do is put in the time man. Everyone sucks when they've only been playing for 6 months, don't sweat it.

ME: Fernandes Ra'Nope
    MA: Fender CE Nope
    MB: Squier Jaguar VintageNope
    Rig: Blackstar Nope 100

But seriously just pick out some areas you want to improve in and ask questions about everything, you may also want to get a teacher as they'll be more experienced, and can help get rid of bad habits you may have and they'll see your strengths and weaknesses, and help you improve on those. I don't know how much time you have on your hands but dedicate as much time as you can to playing and you'll start seeing improvements, just be patient and have fun doing it.
    Last edited by Joshua; 01-10-2014 at 01:46 AM.

ME: JP6 / Carvin CS4
    MA: Martin DC-1E
    Rig: Axe-Fx II XL

Hell, I've been playing for 20 years and I still suck!

ME: Agile Septor Pro727
    Rig: Vox Valvetronix

listen to alot of the kind of music you want to sound like

Pure Riffery

ME: Les Paul Standard
    Rig: Randall RD45