Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Heavy Metal Starter Kit?

ME: B.C. Rich Warlock Bz
    MA: Off-Brand Garbage
    MB: Sold... :'(
    Rig: Line 6 Spyder III

Heavy Metal Starter Kit?

Hey Guys. I've been playing for over 10 years and been in and out of a couple small-time bands, but this is my first real shot at metal. It's always been my favorite style to play, but I have never done much live performing with metal. I was wondering what setup everyone uses for playing metal-style music. I'm still running my original setup, but I am looking to upgrade just about everything I have!

Here is a template for the things I'd like to know...

Amp: (Head/Cabinet or Combo as well as Brand and Model)
    Pedals or other accessories or effects:
    Pick: (Shape, Density, and/or Brand)
    Other: (Anything Else You Use That Might Be Useful)

I'll use my current setup as an example.

Guitar: B.C. Rich Warlock Bronze Edition
    Pickups: Stock B.C. Rich Pickups
    Strings: Thick Gauge Jazz strings (Red)
    Amp: Spyder III Digital
    Pedals: No Pedals, but Amp has built in effect channels.
    Pick: Medium Density standard shape (rounded Triangle)
    Other: None.

I am looking for a metal sound that can play deep bass lines as well as a solo without getting fuzzy at either end of the fretboard.

I am thinking about switching to EMG 57/66 combo pickups in my Warlock. The reason being that I really like the shape and character of my Warlock, but it has the flat B.C. Rich pickups in it and I can't stand them.

What setup is everyone running? And what suggestions would you have to improve mine? I am looking to get new pickups and restring my guitar with a different style string, as well as get a new amp, and possibly a pedal or two. Looking for a combo or head/cabinet with enough power to play small venues, that isn't so big it can't be mobile to take to practices, the stage, and home.

Thanks for any help guys!

ME: ESP Ltd EC401 FR w/J