Recommended temperature and humidity

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Recommended temperature and humidity

Recommended temperature and humidity

Hi everyone!

Quick question: What is the recommended humidity and temperature in the room when building a guitar (or rather, what is considered to be too cold, too warm, too dry and too humid for a guitar-building environment)?

I've had plans on building a guitar for a while now, however since I am an expert level procrastinator (as people have pointed out ) the whole enterprise has been a bit delayed...

But, I have now finally decided that it is time for less postponing and more action. However, it is soon the middle of November, and that means that temperatures are soon going to drop to around minus 10-25C (14 to -13F) outside (and the only place I've got for any type of woodworking is the garage, and although it might be a few degrees warmer in there it will still be cold).

I suspect that I will have to invest in some kind of mobile radiator to return the temperature in the garage to something closer to room temperature, but I just want confirmation of this. I know that a lot of glues don't work if its too cold, but how about the wood?

Then there is humidity. I intend to buy a hygrometer to measure the humidity, but I have no idea what an appropriate humidity is for places intended to be used for building guitars. I would guess somewhere around the humidity of the locale that the guitar is intended to be used in, i.e. my house, but as I am not sure I would like some confirmation, or the correct answer if I am wrong.

Also, lets say that the humidity in the garage is higher or lower than it is inside the house, is this a problem if the difference isn't too great, and what would you consider be a too humid or too dry climate? Finally, is there any way of adjusting the humidity in the garage, except for maybe waiting for the seasons to change?

I thank you in advance!