DIY Cab Project - Seeking Advice

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Thread: DIY Cab Project - Seeking Advice

ME: RGA121
    Rig: 6505+

DIY Cab Project - Seeking Advice

Ok so I'm quite new to good quality amps and speakers, but because I'm on a tight budget and I'm somewhat crafty I decided I'm going to make my own cab.

I picked up a brand new pair of Eminence Man O War speakers (120w 8ohms) to start off with since I've always heard good things about them and I personally like the sound of them myself. (And I got a decent deal of course :P)

Now for a few questions:
    1. If I decide to build a 2x12, with just those speakers, what kind of wattage output from a head would I need to use them effectively/safely?

2. If I decide to build a 4x12, what other speakers could I use to make a good match with the Man O Wars? I don't mind mixing to types of speakers if they supplement each other in their weak spots.

3. In the situation of mixing different speakers, would the other speakers have to match the wattage and/or ohms of the Man O Wars?

Any help and tips would be appreciated.
    Success is the progressive realization of a worthy ideal. - Earl Nightingale

ME: Warmoth Warhead
    MA: Blueridge BR-40
    MB: Dingwall ABI, Kubicki
    Rig: Budda SD30

1) There is no such thing as "underpowering" speakers. If that were true, they'd blow the instant you turned the master volume down. So don't worry about minimum wattage.

2) When mixing speakers, make sure they're of similar efficiency ratings, otherwise you will get less benefit from mixing speakers as one set will be louder than the others.