Learning to shred...(building speed)

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Learning to shred...(building speed)

Learning to shred...(building speed)

Hey Guys im new here.
    I googled for tips on building my playing speed and all I get are sites trying to sell me stuff.
    I figured I'd just ask the people directly that have done it!

I have been playing guitar for around 14 years or so, but I never sat and practiced every day like I should have, Now here I am years later and I cannot play leads/solos.. it sucks..
    So now its time to get on it, but where do I start? what to practice? I need to build speed.
    I mess around with the pentatonic a lil in Bm, Just some bluesy shit. but it isnt really getting me anywhere.
    so.. where is a good place to start to build speed for lead playing? and actually playing leads?

any help is appreciated guys.
    here is a link to my myspace so you can hear i can play, I just suffer in the speed/solo department!
    The Chaos Sessions on MySpace Music - Free Streaming MP3s, Pictures & Music Downloads

looking foreward to learning !!

ME: Ibanez S540LTD
    MA: Taylor Big Baby
    Rig: Laney GH50L

take something you know (the pentatonic box) and spread it out, find all the notes of that pentatonic all over the fretboard, and learn to expand on that. then, pick another scale, and repeat.
    im in the same boat, playing for years and couldnt solo much at all outside of a pent box. so i started playing it in different forms, then blending them, and it opened up the pentatonic scales, and jazz scales, all over the place. been working on it with other scales and modes now, and im FINALLY getting somewhere i wanna be. its taken about 8 months of actively working on it whenever i have spare time.

Pick up a theory book though dude, no doubt its useful as fuck
    R.I.P. Guitars Etc
    RHLC Chief Promotions Officer

ME: Suhr Modern 7
    MA: Martin MC16-GTE
    MB: Dingwall Afterburner 5