where to start with theory

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: where to start with theory

ME: ESP LTD M-202
    Rig: Ashton GA100, 4x12 cab

where to start with theory

yo fullaz. I'm looking to improve my guitar playing a great deal. I've been playing for 8 years now (im 17), and I've reached as far as I can go without learning this stuff. I've realised that after 8 years I should definitely be waaaaaaay better than I am now... I've plateaued and it feels horrible. I know about rhythmic notation and basic stave notes and i can sweep pick 5 string maj patterns pretty good, but I need to know where to start with learning intervals and scales and modes and stuff. I've done internet searches but its all a bit daunting. Any help?

if it helps, I play in a brutal/technical death metal band?
    Last edited by sixeightgroove; 04-11-2013 at 02:05 PM.

MB: Warwick Corvette Active
    Rig: Fender Rumble 350

Online Bass Lessons at StudyBass

Directed at bassists, but it's a great resource for music theory.

ME: RG 1550
    MA: ROFL
    MB: Dafuq?!
    Rig: Mesa Mark IV, Recto 2x12

I'd start with the modes (thats where I'm at at the moment). they will give you an idea of scales, shifting positions on the fretboard and the relationships certain scales/modes have with one another (for example C Major to E Phrygian) .

there are loads of videos on youtube that will help you get an idea of how they work - but the best thing that worked for me was to draw a huge fretboard, mark out the notes of C Maj scale at the 8th fret - and then mark out every other location on the entire fret board that the notes of C Maj scale occur - and you will see exactly what the modes are useful for.

then i did the same for other common 'guitar' scales - E Minor, A Maj etc. this will give you a good foundation for improvising solos etc. along the whole fretboard while staying 'in key'.