Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How important IS music theory?

ME: Robbins custom 7
    MA: ovation celebrity
    MB: Tobias
    Rig: peavey JSX/EVH 5153 4x12

How important IS music theory?

Hey guys, as a guitarist i have really skated through without learning a whole lot of theory, i know several general scales and such, and also when writing i generally have a good enough ear to just know what sounds right and wrong. however since i lack in the theory department its nearly impossible to just do an open jam with anyone. so i ask, how important is it to learn theory in depth? and what is the absolute best way to go about starting?

ME: 90 RG570
    Rig: Digitech GSP2101

Music whatsit?

ME: Strat
    Rig: MKV25, Port City OS Wave

Theoretically (no pun intended) not important. It can help, but it can also just make you play with shapes more than you should play with your ear.

If you have access to a teacher, that's the best way IMO. Alot of dudes offer online lessons, Seanbabs, Sean Ashe, Aaron Marshall, just to name a few.
    ^ probably sarcasm.

ME: Jackson DKMGT
    MA: Martin GPCPA5K
    Rig: Mindy the Framus Dragon

The trick with theory is to not think of it as a method with which to "color in between the lines." I find it absolutely invaluable in my writing, but I also had years of forcing myself to play outside of the box as a result. It's all about how you use it.

At very least, familiarize yourself with scales and keys. Digging into that a bit will allow you to jam openly and at least have some idea of what you're playing.

Obviously there are plenty of examples of players who don't know anything about theory and have come up with the most classic and brilliant stuff ever.