Playing standards and progress

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Playing standards and progress

ME: Ibanez RGD Prestige
    MB: LTD Surveyor
    Rig: Diezel Einstein

Playing standards and progress

Hi all, having seen the Ho-Downs going down on the general music discussion, I've noticed from all the YouTube videos I've seen of MG users playing, that you lot seem to be pretty high standard players. The Megadeth and Annihilator covers were killer.
    I'm wondering how long it has taken you guys/gals to get your playing to a satisfactory level?
    I've been playing since 2008 but I still struggle to play even my own songs cleanly/in time despite practicing a lot of stuff with a metronome and doing all kinds of warmups. If anyone could give any tips towards making progress, I'd really appreciate that.

2. Thanked by:

Still working on it!

Honestly, it's all about seat time or just getting your mileage in. You'll just have to play the stuff you like over and over again until it becomes second nature. You're really just developing a large repertoire of muscle memory exercises. Some things will come a little faster than others, and it also comes in peaks, valleys, and plateaus.

The only real tips I can give that have helped me is to develop your own warm-up routines or "licks". Playing other rote exercises can get boring quickly, and you'll have more fun and be more engaged playing your own stuff. In the grand scheme, it will eventually help you develop your own style.

ME: Electric
    MA: Wooden
    MB: Trout
    Rig: EVH

Repetition and dedication, nothing better for playing than playing a whole bunch. Sounds simple but its the truth. I have met some really "schooled" players that still didn't have the miles to sound like a natural.
    Vag Jackson, Man Of Action

ME: LTD EC1000 / RG3120
    Rig: Laney Ironheart