Having a blast taking lessons

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Thread: Having a blast taking lessons

ME: Ibanez RG1570
    Rig: 6505+/EVH 212cab\cabclone

Having a blast taking lessons

Sorry just sharing this because I'm not sure where else to talk about this!

So my New Year's resolution was to take lessons and I finally got my self over to the local music store and picked a teacher based on my interests and availability.

The guy is really nice and it has been a really positive experience.

I am a beginner and tried many times with videos or magazines to no real success..... aside from a few bars of Highway to Hell and Stairway to Heaven and One and Sanitarium.

For me I found that I've learned a lot in the last few months.

For example, I had always been so careful about having my fingers touch on the the frets that I wanted...... not realizing that I can use the fingers to mute strings that I don't want to ring. This has been huge for me. I find that I really have to work on using both hands to help control the unnecessary ringing of other notes.

I like that he chooses songs that I might like to teach different principles. So stuff like basic chords he used Time of Your Life and to be honest the strumming pattern took some getting used to.

Basket case for some bar chords.

Crazy Train, Day Tripper, Pretty Woman (VH) version for some single note stuff.

Talk Dirty to Me for palm muting.

Paranoid for hammer ons.

Having someone hear you play has been really helpful. For example, with Pretty woman I was rushing and not allow the notes to ring making the song sound like I was playing in a staccato style.

A lot of these songs have some overlaps/similarities which is neat because it means even though I am trying a new riff I am building on skills that I have been practicing from the week before.

Somewhere down the line I would like to learn more about theory but right now I am happy working on controlling what string are heard and increasing my dexterity and confidence.