Economy Playing - The underappreciated art of playing effortlessly

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Economy Playing - The underappreciated art of playing effortlessly

Economy Playing - The underappreciated art of playing effortlessly

How's it going everyone.

I just recently joined the forum and I'd like to at least make my first educational contribution. This falls under technique more than theory, but I couldn't find a technique section. If one exists, forgive me and MOD please feel free to move.

I also maintain a blog where I discuss technique, compositional theory and playing in general at:
    https://nikowenby.tumblr.com/

Anyway, ECONOMY PLAYING.

To preface, at my current age (31) and as a teacher, I look at the sensationalized youtube cover channels, the south korean 10 year old kids that can shred me off the face of the map and even the shred gods we all appreciate (Marty Friedman especially comes to mind)—They all largely share one thing; Their right hand technique makes me cry ='(

I maintain that if you can't play a piece with relative ease, you shouldn't be playing it. That or you should really assess what you are doing (or rather what you aren't) that is making the piece difficult.

Economy Picking has been the biggest tool in my bag of tricks that I have come to depend on more than anything else.

A gross oversimplification of the technique would define it simply as a picking pattern that utilizes the forward(or backward) momentum of a pick stroke to play the proceeding string. You are essentially playing through one string and into the next. At respectable tempos, people commonly mistake it for some bastardized sweeping trick.

The pattern itself is:
    DOWN, up, DOWN, DOWN, up, DOWN, DOWN, up, DOWN DOWN (ascending)
    or
    UP, down, UP, UP, down, UP, UP, down (descending)