A Total Noob From Arkansas!

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: A Total Noob From Arkansas!

ME: Les Paul Standard
    Rig: Randall RD45

A Total Noob From Arkansas!

Hello guys. I think this is the beginning of my mid-life crisis lol. Anyway, I'm almost 42 and only picked up the guitar around six months ago. Well, I actually tried years ago, but an ex-wife soon crushed my dreams of learning with her BS. I am however a total noob. I grew up listening to Metallica, Megadeth, the usual hard rock hair bands, Pantera, some country lol, I guess you can say just about everything but rap or pop. I like metal the most, which is what I eventually want to play. My goal if nothing else is to at least play in some raunchy local bars and clubs before I die. I have a super crappy rig, especially after seeing the thread where everyone posted their shit, but I'm also a broke assed college student and am in the process of scraping up nickles and dimes for pedals and stuff to feed this new addiction. I do think my PRS is sweet, but I don't know if the dual P-90s are a very good choice for metal, but I got a good deal on the axe and it is a super quality instrument. My amp is a Fender Mustang 1 (I know, I know) which I'll definitely have to get rid of as soon as I can afford to. It's ok for beginner shit I guess, but it really has no clean channel and the effects it does have suck. It does the 80's rock overdrive and the 60's twin reverb thing pretty good though. In really want a head/stack rig, but first I gotta justify that by playing much better haha. Anyway, that's me in a nutshell. I'm open for suggestions/advice, or whatever. I like to talk about the rain and what's for dinner too. =)

ME: MIM strat
    Rig: mesa triple recto

welcome from another arkansan.

ME: RGD2127z/Apex 100
    Rig: Diezel Hagen/Zilla's

ME: 87 Ibanez RG550
    MA: Wasburn D12 6
    Rig: ADA MP1 / Spider II

It is never too late to try new things

ME: Suhr Modern 7