Need recommendations for a Bass

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need recommendations for a Bass

ME: Elysian Custom
    Rig: Bias Desktop

Need recommendations for a Bass

So I've been thinking I've been playing a lot of guitar but no bass at all and decided that I should get a bass one of these days. Since I don't know much about the bass world besides Dingwalls are awesome. Can anyone make a recommendation for a bass? I'd like Dingwall Combustion but at that price I think I would be better starting at the lower end range of basses since I'm relatively new to basses.
    I play Suhrs, not poor people guitars. -Chris

MA: Alvarez FDT243C
    MB: Spector Euro4LXStarr
    Rig: 6505+ / SVT-II Pro

you should buy my Warwick $$ 5 string so I can buy a Dingwall

ME: Gibson SG Special
    MA: Yamaha FSX700SC
    Rig: Fender Deluxe VM

What price range are you looking at?

ME: Blackjack C7
    MB: Yamaha TRB6
    Rig: GK MB500

Price range? string number?

Depending on your price range.. if its closer to a grand, I'm gonna recommend the shit out of the Yamaha TRB series. My main bass is a TRB6 (the 34" scale original series). Easily one of the most well put together, awesome sounding basses I've ever played. Got mine for 950$ w/case off of the bay. Other great options in that price range are used Warwick Corvettes. I saw a german made fretless 6 Corvette go for 840$ on ebay a few weeks back.

If you're looking for something a bit cheaper, used carvins can be found for cheap on ebay as well, and are always dirt cheap compared to what you get. had an all mahogany, flamed top 6 string ebony boarded fretless carvin with a peizo that I paid 700$ for at one point.

The earlier made in japan Ibanez BTBs are cool, too. Around 500$ if you can find them. They usually have wood trussrod covers. Anything from Ibanez's soundgear series with a number bigger than SR500 is going to be solid as well.