Those of you that can program drums...

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Those of you that can program drums...

ME: Fender Strat
    MA: Ovation CS257
    Rig: POD HD500

Those of you that can program drums...

I've finally gotten back to working on a project I started back when I was still in high school... Long story short. I have some songs written. These songs require drums. I do not play drums nor really know how to do much more than taking toontrack grooves and dropping them onto a track in Reaper. I'm a complete noob at drum programming, so bear with me.

How do you generally go about doing it?

Got any pointers for someone who has no clue what the hell they are doing?

Any good tutorials elsewhere on the web you could point me to?
    Моё судно на воздушной подушке полно угрей!

ME: 1 of 2
    MA: "Smokey"
    Rig: Peavey XXX

Trust me, you're better off dropping toontrack grooves into Reaper. Programming drums sucks almost as much as hearing them in a project. This is coming from someone who programmed his own drums for an EP CD, and released it. I did okay, but there's no way I'd do it again from scratch.

ME: Swampcaster
    MA: Fender Sonoran
    MB: Squier P Bass
    Rig: None :(

I always use Guitar Pro to program the drums. I usually tab the whole song out, all instruments, and after that is done I start experimenting until i'm happy with the structure and all, then I delete all but the drums, and export the drums as MIDI....import into Reaper and presto, drum tracks.

I think Guitar Pro (you can also use Tux Guitar, which is a free program that will read guitar pro files) is the easiest way to do this.

RHLC East Coast President

ME: Ibanez 540PIIM
    Rig: Peavey 6505

I use the cubase piano roll.
    "W yn shn y zhī, shn y xng.
    Tiān xi m nng zhī, m nng xng." - Lao Tse - my band.

ME: Ibby CST,CT,UV pwh
    MA: Ibby CST w/piezo
    Rig: Axe fx II