Am I being a dick singer?

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Am I being a dick singer?

ME: Ibanez JEM7V
    MA: Enema Bag W/Piezo's

Am I being a dick singer?

My band's been in the studio for months now and it's been a fairly slow process. I've always tracked really quickly in the studio and love being in there, but in this band, my guitarist wrote all the songs and even though I wrote my own melodies/lyrics, he's been in the studio producing me the entire time. It's been frustrating as all hell and we've had a lot of tense evenings that resulted in nothing but lifeless tracks that had to be re-done.

Eventually we figured out how to all work together and we started tracking with the same speed I'm used to. Now we're in the mixing stages and it's just the guitarist and our bassist (bassist owns the studio, I've been recording with him for 10 years now) in the studio....they'll spend 3 days mixing then send me an Mp3.

I'm *really* fucking picky about my vocal effects. I've been a guitarist longer than a vocalist and I know exactly what I want to hear for effects/double tracking. I keep getting mixes that are just bone dry vocals, half the layering I did in the studio is muted, shit I spent forever getting in tune/time.

I love big productions on albums, I'm a huge AIC fan, I love layering, harmonies, all that shit.....Devin Townsend, huge fucking mixes. We're a prog metal band, not the fucking Ramones.

I've explained numerous times that this situation is the same to having your bass player set up your guitar rig, hoping he's going to dial in the right amount of gain, set your delay pedal right, know where in the chain to put it, pray he doesn't put the wah in the effects loop, etc.