Recording 5150 at home without volume

   Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 17

Thread: Recording 5150 at home without volume

  1. #1


    Join Date: Apr 2015
    Location: Sweden
    ME: Warmoth Superstrat

    iTrader: 0

    Recording 5150 at home without volume

    I was in rehearsal yesterday and tried one thing:

    I connected the Send from FX Loop to my interface for the DI signal, piece of cake.
    Then I stuffed a guitar cable in the Return. There was a big drop of volume, but I could still hear a little treble from the speakers, but I still had some annoying humming noise

    Is this bad for the speakers, or is this a way to do it?

    I wanna try some IRs at home with my 5150

  2. #2


    Join Date: Oct 2014
    Location: Northern Ireland
    ME: Jackson DK2
    MA: Lag T66ACE
    MB: Aria SLB

    iTrader: 0

    Oddly, it looks a reasonable approach - keep the master volume at 0 and pick the IR (just don't unplug the speakers). You'll lose any of the power amp characteristics and it'll just be the pre-amp section, but you know that already.

    I await correction by those more in the know.
    10 PRINT "Nom ";
    20 GOTO 10
    RUN

    Nom Nom Nom Nom...
    Error: Buffet overflow!

  3. #3


    Join Date: Apr 2015
    Location: Sweden
    ME: Warmoth Superstrat

    iTrader: 0

    ACtually I can't have volume at 0, because then there's no signal at all from the FX Send. It's directly affected by master volume.
    I just wrote in the first post there was sound

  4. #4


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: 7th plane of ethereal hell
    ME: Ibanez UV7PWH
    Rig: Mesa Roadking II

    iTrader: 8 (100%)

    have you got a friend who has a hotplate or a different power soak? that way you can run the amp hard at no volume. As a bonus, a hotplate has a direct out so you'll get the the full power amp characteristics.

    if you ae really into it, then i highly recommend a torpedo live or studio, as that is total silent recording wih tube amps running full pelt that sounds beyond awesome and pretty much like the real deal

  5. #5


    Join Date: Apr 2015
    Location: Sweden
    ME: Warmoth Superstrat

    iTrader: 0

    I dont wanna have a cab connected at all really

    Does anybody know if Koch Dummybox is any good or do I have to spend a "fortune" on a Two Notes stuff? Or something...

  6. #6


    Join Date: Jan 2016
    Location: Sofia, Bulgaria
    ME: S7420
    MB: 'Ray
    Rig: Ironheart

    iTrader: 0

    It's safe. For less hum, zero out the Resonance and Presence, they aren't affecting the FX Send output on that amp. Any old resistive load will do, if you use the FX Send output. There will only be differences between loads, if you use the Speaker output.

  7. #7


    Join Date: Nov 2015
    Location: Bonn
    ME: LPC
    MB: Stingray 5
    Rig: Ooobershawl

    iTrader: 0

    Quote Originally Posted by Rocka_Rollas View Post
    I dont wanna have a cab connected at all really

    Does anybody know if Koch Dummybox is any good or do I have to spend a "fortune" on a Two Notes stuff? Or something...
    AFAIK, the Koch is a resistive load, which is generally said to be worse than reactive load. As I understand it, it's because an 8 ohm speaker (for example) is only 8ohms at a specific frequency, at other frequencies, it will have a different ohmage, and the output transformer is designed to work with that. A fixed resistor is 8ohms across the full frequency range.

    The reactives (Two Notes, Fryette, Suhr) are the pricey ones and don't have this problem (not entirely sure how it's achieved, though).

    Another cheaper option is the Weber Mass. This has a speaker driver and coil inside, without the cone so it is presenting a 'real' speaker to the OT. I had one, and as a load box it was really good. I didn't really like the sound as an attenuator though. I once emailed Weber to ask if it could be used as a load box without a speaker attached (if it was turned to full attenuation) and they said it was OK. They turn up on eBay in Europe every now and again, but I bought mine direct from Weber in the US.

  8. #8


    Join Date: Nov 2015
    Location: Bonn
    ME: LPC
    MB: Stingray 5
    Rig: Ooobershawl

    iTrader: 0

    Quote Originally Posted by petarkablam View Post
    It's safe. For less hum, zero out the Resonance and Presence, they aren't affecting the FX Send output on that amp. Any old resistive load will do, if you use the FX Send output. There will only be differences between loads, if you use the Speaker output.
    Fair point - if you're using the FX send then what matters is that the output trans has a load on it, but the type of load probably won't make too much difference to the feel. I would probably use the Torpedo Wall Of Sound plugin for the IRs with this setup - It's got a power amp emulator in there, so you would have the real pre-amp and digital poweramp/speakers.

Similar Threads

  1. Recommend loadbox for quiet home recording
    By Rocka_Rollas in forum Guitar: Gear Discussion
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 05-12-2016, 07:35 PM
  2. Recording at Home: What Do You Think?
    By EpicStarman in forum Music: Recording Studio
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 02-17-2016, 08:01 PM
  3. First attempt with home recording.
    By Pom Towell in forum Music: Recording Studio
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 01-12-2014, 08:25 AM
  4. 5150 Preamp Recording Question
    By jsteele1408 in forum Music: Recording Studio
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 01-23-2013, 05:31 PM
  5. Now THAT is an impressive home recording.
    By eleven59 in forum General Music Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 02-23-2012, 12:21 AM

Tags for this Thread


Fractal Audio Systems  Shred Training  Angel Vivaldi
Bowes Guitarworks  Decibel Guitars  NumbSkull Audio Production



VigLink badge