Metal Guitarist Forums banner

Time for an upgrade. Blackstar or DT25 or ??

1K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  79 
#1 ·
Hey guys I'm lookin for some opinions here to figure out which amp I should go with.
I've been playing for a couple years now and am mostly a bedroom player with the occasional jam session with another guitarist. At this point I don't plan on gigging and am really just playing covers and working on my technique.
I've had a small Line6 Spider for awhile which I liked for many reasons but now the tone is starting to sound horrible to me. I am hoping that my ear is getting better and not because of my age!

So I'm looking for an upgrade with similar capabilities and better tone. I really only have two requirements..Needs to sound good at low volumes..I spend most of my playing time in a small den room. Also, I would like to have quick easy presets to work with either as my tone to play, or as a starting base. The thing I liked most about the Spider series being a beginner is that I could go online and find a tone for what I wanted to play and insert it into my amp. I could then tweak it from there to my liking but it was a very fast process to get close to the sound of the song I was playing. I'm not really interested in the heavy editing and tone generation that's becoming a thing with all the modeling software out there.

That said, I was looking at a Blackstar 260TVP, and also at the Line6 PodHD500x & DT25 combo. Also have considered an old Line6 Flextone III. I know the PODHD series gets pretty heavy into the editing so I don't know if the tone is worth the money just to download patches.

Simple and fast cover tones is really my priority..What do you guys think?

See less See more
#2 ·
Drop a little more info. Budget? You want something with effects? Covers like, classic rock? Combo, or a head and a cab setup?