Suspension advice needed

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Suspension advice needed

ME: Ibanez
    Rig: Mesa Triple Rectifier

Suspension advice needed

So I've got a 2004 Isuzu Rodeo, love it. Ever since I've had it though it's had really soft shocks, and it's getting to me. I'm not a car guy and I want to make sure I buy the right parts.

Do I need shocks? Struts? Both?

Right now my truck angles forward when I stop and angles back when I hit the gas. It leans when I turn and when I take a speed bump at a slow speed, I bounce 3-4 times after the speed bump.

I want to have it more stable, to not lean so much on turns so it handles better, and take bumps with a little more energy. Any advice would be great because this is my first time replacing shocks ever.

ME: JP6 / Carvin CS4
    MA: Martin DC-1E
    Rig: Axe-Fx II XL

Replacing shocks on old-ish stock mounts is a titanic pain in the ass, so my first advice is don't do it yourself.

KYB makes gas shocks/struts (I think you probably have the latter) for just about everything, and they're great, and not all that expensive. If you have a couple hundred extra that you can part with, a stiffer set of springs will be a night and day difference, and it's always a good idea to do 'em both at the same time because the labor is the actual pricey part.

ME: LTD SC600 / UV7BK
    Rig: JMP-1>VHT 2/90/2>Zilla's

1. Shocks & struts are the same thing. They're the part that does the damping to stop you bouncing all over the place.

2. Stiffer springs will reduce the movement under breaking & acceleration as well as reducing roll in turns, though the trade off is a stiffer ride.

3. Uprated dampers are always a good idea to go with uprated springs, though not absolutely essential if the new springs give you the same ride height as stock. If they are lower it really is best to use matched dampers.