My RC Car road to the Championships thread

Heavy Metal Guitar   

Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: My RC Car road to the Championships thread

ME: Sterling JP100
    Rig: 11r

Anyone on my fb list, and a few of you from random posts around here have seen i race RC cars. Not just playing in the driveway, but competitively race 1/10 scale onroad touring cars with timing systems, class's, rules/regs, and whatnot. Some of you have asked a few questions about it, and who doesnt like fast geeky toys, cars and crashes.

Normally i just race at the local club races, feb 22-24 we are hosting an indoor championship race with racers coming from over 1000km's away. It'll be on my home track but we are moving it to a nicer location for this race. i was gonna do a decent pic story about it, figured, hell.... i'll do a road to the championship thread

I've been racing off and on, both on road and off road, for about 5 years. Now i only do onroad, offroad lost its appeal for a few reasons the last couple of years. I've been offered sponsorship a few times, but it's like music endorsments, a lot of restrictions and expense and generally not worth the effort. i do race with a few sponsored guys, including a 14 year old that podium's at national events against 40 year olds.

I'm not sure the track dimensions, i'll get them, but it's about a basketball court with 8 foot wide lanes and 8ish corners (depends how you drive them, a few turn into 1 sweeper driven properly) we run 5 minute heats/mains with up to 6 cars on the track at once, and those of us running at the higher levels are hitting 50+ laps, 4-6 second lap times. Mod 'stock' class car hits 28mph down the straight and my open class car hits 45mph. We run a timing system that is similar to Kart racing, where each person has a personal transponder and a computer keeps track of laps, lap times, average lap, fastest lap, etc...