Worth upgrading router? - Page 2
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 9 to 12 of 12

Thread: Worth upgrading router?

  1. #9


    Join Date: Apr 2009
    Location: MA/NH Border
    ME: Epi G400 LP Custom
    MB: EDB600/605
    XBL: MadLadLayton

    iTrader: 1 (100%)

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    The only downside is that adding access points to it is addicting. I have 6 of them in my house now, 3 on the first floor, two upstairs and one in the basement.
    I'd add second one if I wasn't so cheap If I get disconnects from games I always panic and think it's my own fault, but then I remember it's EA servers and everyone complains about them being dogshit anyways, so I've just left the single access point from the 1st floor for now

  2. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements
     

  3. #10


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: London ONT
    ME: PRS
    Rig: JCM800

    iTrader: 1 (100%)

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris View Post
    The only downside is that adding access points to it is addicting. I have 6 of them in my house now, 3 on the first floor, two upstairs and one in the basement
    I can almost guarantee i wont have the money or need to add access points not for a while anyway.

    Just looking for a cost effective 2019 solution .
    ________________________________________
    Sparrows (Space Punk, LOUD): https://www.facebook.com/sparrows613/

  4. #11


    Join Date: Sep 2011
    Location: Adelaide, Aus
    ME: Fender America Elite
    Rig: Fryette GP/DI
    XBL: TheFozBoz

    iTrader: 0

    One of the best things I did this year already was to buy a new router. I was getting speeds of 0.6MBPS down (I know... I live in Australia and Internet speed here is fucked), dropped some coin on the D-Link Cobra and my speed went up to 12.8MBPS and now have the best Wifi coverage I've ever had... and that's just from the hardware upgrade.

    That being said... It was not cost effective

  5. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements
     

  6. #12


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: London ONT
    ME: PRS
    Rig: JCM800

    iTrader: 1 (100%)

    I have the new modem set up, running laptop on the 5G connection. I never even bothered to look up the difference between 2.4G and 5G until today .

    We'll see how the next little bit goes in terms of lagging due to devices.

    Update: I thought something was odd when the new modem came with a wifi password. I realized while trying to fall asleep that the new modem has a built in router . So I think we're good at least until we get our first house.

    Thanks all!

Similar Threads

  1. FS Netgear Wireless Router
    By Überschall in forum General Classifieds
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 09-26-2010, 12:29 AM
  2. cable modem/router suggestions
    By Max in forum Computers, Electronics, Gaming & IT
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-21-2009, 10:57 PM
  3. FS: Wireless-G Setup (Router + NIC)
    By Chris in forum Computers, Electronics, Gaming & IT
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-09-2009, 12:27 AM
  4. Upgrading speakers vs New Cab
    By DanDetora in forum Guitar: Gear Discussion
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-19-2009, 10:39 PM
  5. Looks like I'm upgrading....
    By shannon in forum Computers, Electronics, Gaming & IT
    Replies: 30
    Last Post: 10-23-2008, 08:52 PM

Tags for this Thread


Fractal Audio Systems  Shred Training  Angel Vivaldi
Bowes Guitarworks  NumbSkull Audio Production



VigLink badge