Anybody work or dabble in 3D animation software?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anybody work or dabble in 3D animation software?

ME: 80s Carruthers strat
    MA: 90's era Fender 12 string
    MB: Ibanez ATK300 (MIK)
    Rig: Danelectro Honeytone

Anybody work or dabble in 3D animation software?

My 9 year old son has been interested in learning how to do this. It's nothing i have any knowledge of so we searched free program reviews and chose Blender. He's only begun a couple nights ago using tutorials, and i plan to try and learn some of the basics to help him, at least in the beginning.

Is Blender a good choice or are there better options in the free software selections you would recommend? Anyone have any experience with Blender? We're running it on a Lenovo Ideapad Flex 14.

Thanks.
    "40 is the new 80." - jaxadam

2. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements

I'm a 3D Character Animator.

Yes Blender is a good choice, although I dont use it but I need to start looking at it again since that now they totally revamped it with version 2.8 and for the better.

The Industry standard is Maya, especially for Character Animation, but by the time he grows up and want a job on it who knows what tool will still be relevant.

Also and even though its a dying "form" of communication... make him get used to forums like this:

https://blenderartists.org/

https://www.blendernation.com/

https://forums.cgsociety.org/c/addit...ftware/blender

BLender changed a lot on this recent version (2.8) so he might be lost if trying to follow tutorials for older versions. Its a matter of time until the web will be filled with tutorials (free and paid) for the new version.