Total Noob questions on setup for computer and headphones
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Total Noob questions on setup for computer and headphones

ME: Kiesel Vader 7x
    MA: Dominelli Double top
    Rig: Dual recitifier+rec-cab

Total Noob questions on setup for computer and headphones

Hi all,

I'm new (again) to electric guitar and unfortunately, my wife does not like hearing metal guitar so I'm going to have to spend most of my time playing through headphones and a MacBook. As a plus side, I can do this also in the early morning and evenings without offending neighbors. I'm totally new to this so I'm not sure of the following:

• What interface to use into the MacBook?
    • Good recommendations for headphones
    • Apps/programs to use for different effects, amps, adding drumbeats/bass etc
    • Would I use a pre-amp/pedals going into the interface?
    • Am I missing something else?

Thanks in advance for any information. If there is a how to guide somewhere as well, please feel free to point me to it.

/edit I suppose I could have another method of driving headphones out going through the rig and inputing audio from the Mac into it as well? Currently I have a dual rectifier with an overdrive and noise gate.
    Last edited by Emile640; 05-21-2019 at 01:04 PM.

2. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements

ME: Rich Mahogany
    MA: Godin A6 Ultra
    MB: SR500
    Rig: Massive/Boobies

You could get a Focusrite 2i4 or similar, they are quite easy to setup on a Mac. They also play very nicely with Reaper (recording program), which also can load any amp sim, drum sim, etc.

Again, look to Ola Englund's YouTube channel. He goes into depth on a couple of these topics

Per the headphones, AKG's are studio standards, but I think anything >$30 and closed/over-the-ear will get you most of the way to a great sound.

ME: '87 Duesenberg
    Rig: MP-2 + TSR-24S + Vortex