Pretty decent read (thd on why we bias amps too hot)

Thread: Pretty decent read (thd on why we bias amps too hot)

ME: Ibanez UV7PWH
    Rig: VHT UL /AxeFX2 /Mesa RK2

Pretty decent read (thd on why we bias amps too hot)

https://www.facebook.com/AndyMarshal...930?__tn__=K-R

and for those who shun social media:
    Quote Originally Posted by THD Electronics / Andy Marshall Designs
    A customer, who owns a THD Flexi-50, recently asked me why our recommended bias is so much lower than the "commonly accepted 70% of maximum dissipation."

The following is my rather verbose response:

Let’s start out by stating that I am a proper amplifier designer, not a hobbyist who cuts and pastes from other designs, and gleefully repeats whatever he reads on the internet, as if it were fact. I’ve been at this for 50 years and have consulted for everyone under the sun in terms of sound, reliability, manufacturability, and just about every aspect of analog audio circuit design you can think of. I do amp repairs and restorations for dozens of multi-platinum rock bands, and I’ve often gotten that work because they see that the only amps they have that almost never need repair are their THDs. I’ve also helped Philips, Fluke and Hewlett-Packard design and build better test equipment based on my experience. I don’t even take proper textbooks as gospel, preferring to actually measure and analyze real-world situations, often proving PhD engineers and university department heads wrong in their assumptions.