Question on splitting a buffered signal
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Question on splitting a buffered signal

  1. #1


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Colorado Springs, CO
    Rig: 6505MH

    iTrader: 8 (100%)

    Question on splitting a buffered signal

    Let’s say you have a tuner pedal like the boss TU-3, it has two split outputs - one normal and one bypass. The pedal is buffered and not true bypass. Now, let’s say you have a different pedal like the polytune 3. You set it up to have a buffered output (not true bypass), and you split the buffered output signal using something like a hosa y cable. Is there any difference in that approach, or is one method “better” than the other?

  2. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: San Jose, CA
    ME: Rich Mahogany
    MA: Godin A6 Ultra
    Rig: Mesa/Fractal

    iTrader: 16 (100%)

    Y cables will split your signal, like, in two. Your guitar signal voltage is the same, but the current is split in half, thus halving the power. I suspect the TU-3 is compensated for this loss? Maybe?

    I wouldn't do it

  4. #3


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Woodbridge, VA
    ME: CS USA Soloist 7
    MA: Ovation Elite Standard
    Rig: Mesa Triple Rec

    iTrader: 10 (100%)

    Quote Originally Posted by Leon View Post
    Y cables will split your signal, like, in two. Your guitar signal voltage is the same, but the current is split in half, thus halving the power. I suspect the TU-3 is compensated for this loss? Maybe?

    I wouldn't do it
    From what I understand of the TU-3, Leon is correct. Use a proper buffered splitter so both signals are at unity.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: San Jose, CA
    ME: Rich Mahogany
    MA: Godin A6 Ultra
    Rig: Mesa/Fractal

    iTrader: 16 (100%)

    FWIW, I use this to split my signal: https://www.radialeng.com/product/twin-city

    I actually have it in my rackrig right now. It's post preamps, which are running mono, before my power amp, a Mesa 2:90. So, if the gig calls for it, I can hit a switch, plug in the input to the second channel on the 2:90, and be running 180W

Tags for this Thread


Fractal Audio Systems  Shred Training  Angel Vivaldi
Bowes Guitarworks  NumbSkull Audio Production



VigLink badge