What's more important speaker or cabinet?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What's more important speaker or cabinet?

ME: ESP MI Custom
    MB: Fender Jazz custom
    Rig: Kemper

What's more important speaker or cabinet?

I know I've posted some stuff from Kohle before, but I absolutely love his channel. This is a Marshall V30 vs Mesa V30 comparison, but also switching the speakers between cabs to find out whether it's the enclosure or the speaker that's really making the difference.

2. Thanked by:

3. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements

ME: LTD H7, KM6, 540SLTD
    MB: SR305E
    Rig: Helix

My gut response to the question was speaker. After listening, it's still speaker.
    Tone Chasers Anonymous ™ - I’m not just a member, I’m the President.
    Don’t expect much, it’s not like I’m a rocket surgeon.

ME: 1990-91 Ibanezes
    MA: Seagull S6
    MB: Ibanez SR500
    Rig: Laney IRT Studio

I prefered the Marshall with the Mesa V30's at least in isolation, in the mix it depended kind of on the riff and style. Interesting that there's such a difference between the different V30's. Could it be that as he says he's been using the Mesa all the time and not using the Marshall much, that that's affected the speaker? I've heard people say they don't come alive until after x hours of playing.

Was it also that Mesa had a stockpile of English Celestions, while the Marshall is a Chinese one? You'd still think that Celestion would make sure they sound about the same...
    "How can less be more? It's impossible. More is more."
    -Yngwie J. Malmsteen

6. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by Markus View Post