NGD - Back Where I Stratted

Thread: NGD - Back Where I Stratted

ME: Carvins
    MA: Larrivee
    MB: Ibanez BTB675M
    Rig: 2 Year Old Son

NGD - Back Where I Stratted

I started playing guitar on a Bullet Strat, like many others here I'm sure. It's probably been at least 20 years since I moved on from that thing, but the last few years I've wanted to get another Strat. I was kinda dragging my feet on actually picking one up cuz usually a new guitar purchase (you know, the "one" with everything you think you want/need) ends up running me about $2k.

WELL, I came across this, brand new, for $88

New Strat 1 by Nick Shelton, on Flickr

New Strat 2 by Nick Shelton, on Flickr

New Strat 4 by Nick Shelton, on Flickr

It's just a base Affinity Strat, made in China, but they killed it on this one. Nothing really to complain about on the guitar build wise, but I will probably mod the hell out of this thing with better bridge/tuners and pickups, and I'm definitely glad it is HSS. Probably new pots too. And I'm pretty sure I'll black out everything on it hardware-wise. Even the fretwork is good, not like ESP level, but no sharp edges and they're level and nicely crowned. Sounds good unplugged too. Very impressed and pleased with this overall.

What are the best options for new bridge and tuners, if I'm trying to stay with drop-in replacements?

Thanks for looking

2. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements

ME: Gibson
    MA: Fred Welker
    MB: Jazz
    Rig: ENGL/Fender/Marshall

I appreciate this more than others will I'm sure. NICE!!!!
    The streets are extended gutters and the gutters are full of blood and when the drains finally scab over, all the vermin will drown. The accumulated filth of all their sex and murder will foam up about their waists and all the whores and politicians will look up and shout "Save us!"... and I'll look down and whisper "No.” ― Alan Moore

Nice