A question about learning theory and scales.

Thread: A question about learning theory and scales.

ME: Gibson Les Paul
    Rig: Katana

A question about learning theory and scales.

So, a little backstory, I've been playing guitar for probably 15 years, but 99% of it has just been playing along with tabs, minus 4 or 5 years where I had more interest in getting drunk than learning guitar.

Recently I got the same guitar bug I got when I was a teenager. I've been busy relearning how to play guitar sober and realizing I need to learn all that theory stuff I didn't bother learning when I was more interested in just rocking out. I do have a college fine arts credit worth of music theory, so basically I know that a major scale is wwhwwwhw and that C major and A minor don't have any sharps or flats.

So I've watched plenty of videos about you have to learn you scales and how to make your solos not sound like scales and all that jazz. But with all my playing along with guitar pro and trying to improvise solos that I'm too lazy learn it seems like when I'm trying to wing it that if it has say, a 16th note run up to bending an E up a step, it sounds a lot worse if I land on an Eb and try to bend it up to the right pitch than if I hit a Bb instead of B in the 16th note run. So I have realized that there's not so much a wrong note, but there is a wrong time to play a note.

Plus say you're playing in A, A uses D and E, and A has F# and C# and E uses F#, G#, C# and G#, so I would think that depending on where in the solo you play them, they would sound good too. And if you and in the other chords besides the 145 progression you'll get some other sharps.

So am I wrong or would the easier thing to do be memorize the fretboard and what notes are in the scales over sitting there and trying to memorize all these scale boxes that I have to figure out again if I want to play in a different key?

2. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements

ME: Ibanez 540P