Metal Guitarist Forums banner

38 Pages of Guitar Music Theory Reference Material I Made In GIMP

2K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  vansinn 
#1 ·
I've been studying guitar for about 9 months now, and around 6 months ago I started typing up my hand written notes in GIMP, to make 8.5x11" images I can print up for my guitar binder. A few days ago, I decided to share them on the internet. After some feedback on other forums and discord rooms, I updated them a bit, and here is what they look like now:

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Kt4E4LjDSr8j1HwskcmBw59QlegaovdL/view

So what's in it?
  • A 7 dimensional circle of 5ths (more on that below)
  • 9 pages of general music theory notes. I originally wrote them in case I ever have to take a break from music for a while and want to refresh my memory. Like, if I got in a horrible accident or something. I kind of printed them up and scribbled on them a lot. I cleaned them up a lot, for public consumption, after I shared them the other day and started to realize just how bad they were. I fixed typos, rewrote whole sections, cleaned up some tables, and added a couple of pages to make them flow better. They should be correct and readable now. I hope.
  • 2 pages of key charts (one for Major, one for minor)
  • 3 pages showing the fingering for every major, minor, and diminished chord. The only odd thing here is the empty dots. The solid dots should be pretty self-explanatory. They show where to fret and what finger I like to use to fret there. The empty dots show optional fretting positions, for if you want to try a different voicing of the chord. If there is an empty dot, the note it produces is written in parenthesis below it.