How-to: Basic Re-Amp with an Axe-Fx II and Reaper
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 24

Thread: How-to: Basic Re-Amp with an Axe-Fx II and Reaper

  1. #1


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Boston, MA
    ME: Suhr Modern
    Rig: Axe-Fx II / 5150

    iTrader: 34 (100%)

    How-to: Basic Re-Amp with an Axe-Fx II and Reaper

    Here's exactly how I do it, which works just the way it should. I can live re-amp the signal while the track is playing and tweak the Axe-Fx in the mix. Note that I do not use the USB for this, and that I'm not in any saying that this is the best way to do it - it's just how I go about it.

    I'm using Reaper 64/OSX and a MOTU 828mkii.

    Cabling is pretty simple. I record my rhythms mono, but the same applies for stereo, so everywhere I note one connection, make it two.

    Guitar -> Axe-Fx II Front Input
    Interface Output 1 -> Axe-Fx II Rear Input
    Interface Main Output -> Monitors
    Reaper Main Output -> Interface Main Output
    Axe-II Output 1 -> Interface Input 1/2
    Axe-II Output 2 -> Interface Input 3/4

    There's nothing special/unusual there other than that I run an extra output from the interface into the back of the Axe-Fx.

    I setup my presets like this, so that my regular tone goes stereo out of Output 1, and the DI goes stereo out of Output 2 via the FXL block.



    Then in Reaper, I record a regular processed track by arming the track with the input on Input 1/2 (which I have named "Axe-Fx Wet") and a second track with the input set to Input 3/4 ("Axe-Fx Dry"). You can name your inputs in Reaper in the Audio preferences, and most DAWs have the same functionality.



    Then, when recording, I just keep the OUTPUT level on my DI track all the way down (so I don't hear it when I'm riffing away). It's still recording, it's just not monitoring.

    What I end up with is a clean DI and a wet tone for each track.



    Once you have your DI track, set the OUTPUT of the DI track in Reaper to the hardware output that routes to the REAR input of the Axe-Fx. In this case, Analog 1 is Output 1 of my MOTU, and that's cabled to the back of the Axe-Fx.

    Make sure that Master/Parent send is unchecked, and that the hardware output is the only output on that track, so that you don't hear the DI track at all when you play it back - the only place you want it to actually go is to the Axe-Fx.



    Now, on the Axe-Fx, go to I/O -> Audio Tab and set Input 1 Left Select to Rear. If you just run your DI out of your interface to the front of the Axe-Fx, obviously this isn't necessary, but I don't like to swap cables around and there's a bunch of shit in front of it my chain. Plus, I'm lazy.



    So all you're doing here is taking the DI that you created in Reaper and sending it to a new output on your interface that's cabled to a different input on the Axe-Fx. Easy as that.

    Now just create another track for your reamped signal, and have it use the same inputs that your regular tracks use. So if Output 1 of the Fractal is the output that you use for your wet signal, your reamp track should use that for the input.



    Then just arm the track, mute your original wet recording and go to town. You'll be able to live re-amp with the Fractal while hearing the rest of your mix in context.



    Here's a video of it in action:


  2. Thanked by:


  3. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements
     

  4. #2


    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Brighton, UK
    ME: Stuff
    MB: More Stuff
    Rig: Extra Stuff

    iTrader: 11 (100%)

    FUCKING JELLY!

    Edit: I'm sorely fucking tempted to rush out now and buy the same interface. It must be my interfaces that are causing the problems I'm having.

    Oh yeah, and, like, thanks for this and stuff.

  5. #3


    Join Date: Aug 2010
    Location: Cyprus
    ME: LTD EX360/SchecterC7
    MA: Ovation 1778TX
    Rig: Axe FX II / Fratomic

    iTrader: 0

    You should sticky this Chris, it's a pretty neat write up.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cassidy View Post
    FUCKING JELLY!

    Edit: I'm sorely fucking tempted to rush out now and buy the same interface. It must be my interfaces that are causing the problems I'm having.

    Oh yeah, and, like, thanks for this and stuff.
    It has to be your interface Lee, from what you're saying it's the only thing I can think of.

  6. Remove Advertisements
    MetalGuitarist.org
    Advertisements
     

  7. #4


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Boston, MA
    ME: Suhr Modern
    Rig: Axe-Fx II / 5150

    iTrader: 34 (100%)

    Added a video the first post. It's still processing and such, but should embed now.

  8. #5


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Somerville, Ma
    ME: Suhr Modern 7
    MA: Martin MC16-GTE
    MB: Squier 5 string P-bass
    Rig: Mark V

    iTrader: 5 (100%)

    I've been meaning to try reamping some bass tracks through my Recto - I'll have to try your basic approach, and maybe document it in a similar manner.
    "They can kill you, but the legalities of eating you are a bit dicier." - David Foster Wallace

  9. #6


    Join Date: Oct 2008
    Location: Brighton, UK
    ME: Stuff
    MB: More Stuff
    Rig: Extra Stuff

    iTrader: 11 (100%)

    Quote Originally Posted by kostein View Post
    You should sticky this Chris, it's a pretty neat write up.



    It has to be your interface Lee, from what you're saying it's the only thing I can think of.
    Yeah, only thing I can think of. Unfortunately the unhelpful staff in GAK pretty much kicked me out as it was too close to their closing time (20 minutes before closing). So, wasn't able to grab one. Bummer.

  10. #7


    Join Date: Feb 2012
    Location: Dallas, Tx.
    ME: C8 Hellraiser
    Rig: Axe-Fx II MFC-101

    iTrader: 0

    Thanks for the guide and taking the time to make this.
    I helped Josh from Glass Cloud a while back with something
    very similar. Using a pre-recorded DI track into a second
    Axe-fx Ultra rig for extra guitar parts not playable by one guitarist
    in a live scenario. Works very well.
    Thanks again.

  11. #8


    Join Date: Sep 2008
    Location: Boston, MA
    ME: Suhr Modern
    Rig: Axe-Fx II / 5150

    iTrader: 34 (100%)

    Quote Originally Posted by Funeral View Post
    Thanks for the guide and taking the time to make this.
    I helped Josh from Glass Cloud a while back with something
    very similar. Using a pre-recorded DI track into a second
    Axe-fx Ultra rig for extra guitar parts not playable by one guitarist
    in a live scenario. Works very well.
    Thanks again.
    Cheers bro, good to see you over here!

Similar Threads

  1. How-to: Basic record automation in Reaper
    By Chris in forum Music: Recording Studio
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-01-2012, 04:51 PM
  2. Reaper 4 Unleashed (advanced Reaper guide)
    By Chris in forum Music: Recording Studio
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11-21-2011, 04:00 PM
  3. Basic, direct Axe-Fx II Video
    By Chris in forum Guitar: Gear Discussion
    Replies: 35
    Last Post: 06-27-2011, 10:33 PM
  4. Basic Reaper/EZDrummer setup advice
    By lennyechovirus in forum Music: Recording Studio
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 04-11-2011, 11:36 AM
  5. Basic stuff I would need for recording.
    By Kotex in forum Music: Recording Studio
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 04:57 AM

Tags for this Thread


Fractal Audio Systems  Shred Training  Angel Vivaldi
Bowes Guitarworks  NumbSkull Audio Production



VigLink badge