Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
NSLALP
13,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I started this at SS.org because they're the biggest ERG whores, but I realized I'll get some intelligent opinions over here too. And I :wub: you guys.

Jim at Strictly 7 guitars posted a poll at SS.org asking about 8-string single-coil pickups. I've been talking with him and know that both are possibilities, although he's asked me not to delve into too many details at this point.

I understand that they're two completely different camps, but in my experience 8-string actives seem to have some advantages over passives, e.g. evenness of sound across the strings and higher S/N ratios (bigger magnets and windings in 8-string passives, all things being equal, should raise the noise floor a bit over a 6- or 7-string passive). In a non-humbucking design, this would become even more important.

I have no experience playing with active single coils, so I don't really know how they sound compared to a passive. I do know that I loved David Gilmour's Delicate Sound of Thunder or PULSE tour sounds and he was rocking an EMG set in his strats.

So if you could have, say, an EMG 81TW with two SA single coils, or a Blackout set with a single coil in the middle and a 5-way switch, would you take it over a passive set? Why or why not?

I'm asking both for my sake because I'm pretty hot to order an 8 with a single-coil, as well as Jim's sake so he doesn't waste time developing the least attractive option.

·
Premium Member
9,388 Posts
I'm totally biased because I hate active pickups. If I wanted an eight string single coil I'd want it to be passive. I think if I single coil was wound correctly it would be great in an eight string. It would add a lot of punch and clarity to the sound.

·
NSLALP
13,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·