1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Slow Money
14,612 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Going mac in ~2 weeks when school starts up, via a 15" Macbook Pro

:woot:

So 2 questions
1) Is the 2nd video card in the midlevel model worth the upgrade (basic gameswise) from to bottom tier? keep in mind im getting $150 off the cheaper model and 150 off the midrange model since im a student. Ill be using nothing crazy gameswise via steam, IE: CS and CS:S, Morrowind, ETC. Ill be paying between 1000-1200 cash on the thing and credit carding the rest. If i feel the extra 250 bucks will make the laptop last me a year or two longer, capabilities wise, ill go for it. otherwise, no. What do you guys think?

2) VMWare fusion vs just bootcamp. Ill dualboot either XP or 7, for basic gaming exclusively. I wont be doing any internet shit or anything like that with it, and i wont be booting flipping over often. Its not like ill need to switch back and forth alot. How big of a performance boost do you get in a game booting windows vs virtualization?

·
Read Only
10 Posts
Rule of thumb: You can upgrade your hard drive and your memory in a laptop with ease, but you can pretty much never upgrade the video card. Best bet - go for the upgraded one out of the gate. :yesway:

·
Read Only
10 Posts
Also, you'll need to go boot camp for gaming, you can't run games in a VM. 3D acceleration is virtually nil, and iirc DirectX isn't supported virtually either. (don't quote me on that second one)

·
Slow Money
14,612 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thats what i thought, although from what ive heard alot of older steam games run pretty well on vmware. whatever, one less expense. Now i just need to scrape up some extra $ to offset the extra on the nicer macbook a bit

·
Banned
21,673 Posts
Also, you'll need to go boot camp for gaming, you can't run games in a VM. 3D acceleration is virtually nil, and iirc DirectX isn't supported virtually either. (don't quote me on that second one)