Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
In brightest day...
422 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Wirelessly posted (BlackBerry9630/5.0.0.1030 Profile/MIDP-2.1 Configuration/CLDC-1.1 VendorID/104)

Hey, I'm extremely new to midi and need help hooking my Axefx up to Axe Edit. I keep getting an error.

So I got 2 5-pin midi cables the other week to finally hook everything up. This has been my first midi encounter. I hooked the midi in from the axe into my Presonus Firestudio Mobiles (it has a midi adapter) midi out. I then hooked up the midi out to the midi in. Just the way I read. So I start up Axe Edit and I get this error saying "check midi settings..."

No idea what I'm doing wrong. The firmware on my AxeFx is 10.02 and the AxeEdit software is the latest version. I checked the sysex I'd on AxeEdit to see if it matches and it is: 00 01 74. The sysex I'd on my AxeFx is different and it is: 125. How do I get these to match? I don't understand how to since they are in different number formats.

Just fyi, the midi cables I bought new. The firmware on the presonus is updated as well. Any help would be appreciated!

-Sean

·
Super Moderator
7,708 Posts
the one drawback to the Axe FX is that it really could use a USB interface of it's own. Many MIDI devices (like my old MOTU) don't read the AFX well at all.

Get yourself a MIDI to USB cable, they're usually dirt cheap, have a USB port on one end, a MIDI in and MIDI out on the other. Most of them come with a driver disc or Windows automatically recognizes them, and it's a perfect interface for the AFX.

That's from my experience.

·
Read Only
10 Posts
My M-Audio Uno (usb to midi) had the same issues. I could use Axe-Edit happily, but occasionally I'd have to restart the machine to get it to link back up. It would work fine for ~30 minutes, lose connection, reboot, work fine, etc. Tried it on my MOTU, same thing. :scratch:

·
In brightest day...
422 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·