Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
NICE BLACKMACHINE YO
7,276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just been gifted a Toshiba laptop to replace my Dell that was stolen at New Year.

It isn't as ridiculously powerful as my Dell was but it'll do the job. The problem is right now it's packed to the brim with google desktop and firefox add-ons and picasa apps and all that nonsense. I'd rather go through and blitz the programs I won't ever use myself but I have no knowledge of registry cleaners (never had to with my Mac) and after all the spam on websites for the servive I'm sceptical. :lol:

Any suggestions for programs and/or processes?

Complete reinstall isn't an option as I don't have Vista install discs my Windows 7 discs won't work on this computer (Dell-only), so a clean up from the ground up seems to be it :s

·
Read Only
10 Posts
CCleaner will do 99% of it.

Piriform - Download CCleaner, Defraggler, Recuva, Speccy - Millions of users worldwide!

Process:

- Run it, clean everything
- Run the registry check, clean everything
- Reboot
- Uninstall all the crap you can via the control panel
- Run the registry check again, clean everything
- Reboot
- Run the cleaner again
- Run the registry check again
- Check services and pick off anything that got left behind
- Reboot
- Run the cleaner
- Run the registry check

Done.

·
NSLALP
13,286 Posts
I was always lazy and just reformatted the whole fuckin' thing when this happened to me. :lol: That's why I always have two hard drives - one for the OS and programs, the other for all media.

·
NICE BLACKMACHINE YO
7,276 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
CCleaner will do 99% of it.

Piriform - Download CCleaner, Defraggler, Recuva, Speccy - Millions of users worldwide!

Process:

- Run it, clean everything
- Run the registry check, clean everything
- Reboot
- Uninstall all the crap you can via the control panel
- Run the registry check again, clean everything
- Reboot
- Run the cleaner again