Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 130 Posts

·
Lord Super Awesome
5,701 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, it's time to fess up. I sold the "Fractal Audio / Atomic" setup to my bandmate a few weeks back. That combo is the absolute best "modeling processor full range setup" on the market...hands down. If I ever go back to a rack rig, that's what I will go back to, but I will add a tube poweramp.

My backstory for the decision:
I've been doing the digital/modeling processer thing for 10 yrs now, mostly with SS poweramps, but a few Mesa tube poweramps have snuck in there too. Prior to that, it was mainly cheap SS amps & one shitty Marshall SL-X tube head that I promptly got rid of. With that in mind, I haven't had the $$$ to get give high-end tube amps a proper go other than just tinkering with friend's amps or at the local music store. And of course, it's just painful to hear some local band playing through nice gear & they had no concept of how the fucking knobs work. Terrible tones on rather good gear.

So I decided that now that I've tried the best in the world of processors, it's time to really check out high-end tube amps now that I can afford them. It was time to see if I was really missing out on anything.

And yep, i was! I tried out numerous tube amps in the $1400-2700 range & the clear winner for that price range in terms of flexibility, reliability, tone & all the features I wanted was the HUGHES & KETTNER COREBLADE. All analog, all tube tone w/ midi preset capabilities & the abilities to experiment with different power tubes & even MIXING them! I'm using my Ground Control Pro midi pedal to control the amp. I've paired the amp with two Mesa widebody 1x12 cabs loaded with Eminence swamp thang speakers.

Here's where the tubes snobs rejoice.... :rofl:
Tubes do have a presence & complexity about them & the tone really cuts through in the mix for live applications.