Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
A few months ago, I found someone locally (a guy named Tom) who said he would build a ss guitar amp for me and I was (and still am) psyched :metal:

I met with Tom and we ironed out all the details of the amp. Upon meeting, he realized that my design was a little more complicated than he thought (I wasn't able to communicate all that I wanted clearly via email because I'm not an electronics engineer).

Here are the specs I wanted (along with some kick-ass suggestions from members at SevenString.org):
Here are the features so far:
-The design is based off a few common favorite ss amps that are specifically good for METAL (such as the Ampeg VH-140C [LOOSELY, that is]) plus the addition of extra controls and features (such as a "Depth/Resonance knob, plus a high-mid knob and low-mid knob for each channel)
-150 watts
-----I was skeptical about just having 150 watts but Tom assured me he knew
what he was doing and that this could compete with all the other
instruments in a metal band. I guess it's one of those quality of quantity
type of things.
-----He also said if I wasn't completely satisfied then we would tweak it until
I was or I didn't have to pay him. That works for me :D
-Two inputs: High gain and Low gain
-Two channels: Clean, and Distorted (plus a Boost switch for the second channel for soloing, getting even more gain if you are doing straight up grindcore/noise, etc).
-An "Edge" switch (adds more brightness)
-Volume for each channel
-Two output jacks
-Stereo or mono switchable output
-Direct line out
-MIDI
-Headphone jack
-Footswitch jack
-Effects loop (with level controls and foot-switchable)
-Master reverb (because everyone knows you sometimes just need a little bit)
-----This will also be foot-switchable
-Master volume
-Cup holder (thank you 7 Strings of Hate for this kick-ass idea :))
-Small storage compartment for cables, footswitch, etc