Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Premium Member
7,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

So, it's "common knowledge" that the built-in direct signals (hi-z/instrument/guitar) on interfaces are inferior to let's say a good quality DI box (like teh Radial)

So I decided to make a comparison.

DIRECT SIGNAL!

REAMPED SOUND (with Kemper)

So, can you hear any difference, or tell which one is which?! :flex:

·
Premium Member
7,286 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I've been using the Apogee HiZ inputs for the past 5 years. Way better than any DI-box or any other application I've tried.
That was my reaction to this comparison too...
Makes me kind of regret wasting that money on 2 units of Radial J48s :lol:
They are still really handy for live recording tho; both record and go to live amp with the "thru", without going through fiddly routing stuff in the DAW.

I can't really hear any obvious difference, but that just means I'll continue using my Kemper signal, since that makes the whole recording setup easy and low on latency
Most difference, must have been by picking slightly different each time.

·
Resident Winger Overlord
4,287 Posts
Your average ordinary listener couldn't tell the difference between a jcm 800 and a Bugera tri rec infinium 3 channel 100 watt valve amp head going thru a fucking radio shack microphone.
Stop holding your shits in and just have fun man. Cripes...,

·
glass enthusiast
1,665 Posts
I think I can relate to you on this one. Would I be right in thinking that you're so fussy about things like this more for the confidence in your own result than what other people think? I have a similar issue where I do loads of takes and scrap them because one note wasn't precisely on the click or there's a bit of string ringing that no one else seems to hear. That's why I've never finished a recording :lol:

·
Read Only
1,264 Posts