Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
\m/ Tits & Beer \m/
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey fellas,

I've been using the line 6 UX3 for a few months, (after breaking my 1/8" jack on my Mac surprise, surprise lol) and have been having some issues with it. Sometimes during takes the unit will cause an unbelievably loud static that literally makes me want to chuck ninja stars to the necks of baby seals. Additionally, the unit now has a serious latency problems. I tried to trouble shoot them but no luck, figured an upgrade is in order either way.

I'm thinking of buying a new unit but have no idea what I should go for. I do all of my recording in GarageBand. Any suggestions?

·
Premium Member
32,765 Posts
Drop garageband. :lol: I swear by Reaper, personally it's not quite as idiot-proof, but with greater flexibility comes greater power.

Um, you're asking about a recording interface, right? What's your budget? Do you have a Firewire port, or do you need a USB interface? I'd imagine if you're on a Mac you have a Firewire - I understand they're pretty standard...

·
\m/ Tits & Beer \m/
1,150 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Drop garageband. :lol: I swear by Reaper, personally it's not quite as idiot-proof, but with greater flexibility comes greater power.

Um, you're asking about a recording interface, right? What's your budget? Do you have a Firewire port, or do you need a USB interface? I'd imagine if you're on a Mac you have a Firewire - I understand they're pretty standard...
My budget's from $250-350 or so. I was looking into the PreSonus Firepod, but no idea how it really works lol. I do have a Firewire Port & I'd need at least 2 inputs.

I dont get crazy with recording at home. I've got my presets where I want them in GB and am pretty happy with them. I like to focus on the songwriting more so than the DAW. Considering I think I've got my tunes sounding pretty decent!

4,429 Posts