Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Banned
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greetings,

My name is S.G, I've been searching for a forum in recent months for extreme metal playing. I'm not a beginner by any means, but there are always new things to learn.

I practice using Guitar Pro 5, thinking of possibly upgrading to 6 (better sounds) and I may start using a slow downer program in addition to that. I've never been really big on theory, but am not opposed to learning some of it if it will help me (though I will do so begrudgingly :jokes:)

Also I am interested in learning the names to certain scales, and perhaps how to play them more efficiently? That may sound very n00b to some, but traditionally I've always played by ear. Maybe it wouldn't hurt to get certain rudiments down.

I'd also like to learn how to do sweeps as they look and sound awesome.

Fav bands/artists I am actively trying to emulate include:

Death, Watain, Dissection, Emperor...

other recent favs I've come across have been The Chasm, Sacrilege B.C., Thy Primordial, Vindensang (also from PA) and many others.

Thanks for the message board. Looking forward to your assistance and also to helping others out.

S.G. :metal:

(also, if there are any users interested in sharing gp5 files that may be hard to find, I would be interested in that.)

·
Banned
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
:welcome:
What guitars/gear are you using?
Thanks and thanks!

Currently I am using a G&L Legacy as my main electric (with Dimarzio fast tracks in the neck and middle position and X2N in the bridge)

and Genz-Benz Diablo 60w tube head and 2x12 cab. I also use a Boss Line Selector and sometimes play through a 200w Randall solid state on a 4x12 simultaneously but haven't been doing that lately. Thinking about downsizing and selling trading stuff to buy

an ENGL Invader or Powerball head
new Ibanez guitar (i like the Giger series kind of, I might be wrong for that)
or Dean Vendetta 4f