Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Sir Groove-A-Lot
Charvel So Cal & San Dimas
6,916 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
It's driving me nuts. I don't mean I'm struggling to mix it, I mean because I have absolutely zero identity as a bass player, so I can't settle on something.

I'm a guitarist through and through (and, when this EP's finished, a singer :ugh: ) which is fine. I've been playing guitar for 17 years now, and singing is just talking loudly to a tune, right? :lol: So those are things that I know how to manipulate in a way that represents me. I know "my" tone and have an identity as a guitar player (or at least I think I do)... Or at least I know how to create the tones that are in my head.

I didn't foresee this problem. I guess in the past I've just shoved 'some' bass on my songs to give it some low end, and it's been a bit of an afterthought, but that's when I was doing heavier music. This is different, I really wanted to make bass a real feature with this as it's not fast or technical or anything so has more breathing space for it, and I'm struggling to find a tone that sits right with the feel of everything else.

Basically, I've lost all objectivity and I don't know how to regain it.

I keep going all over the place; The Doug Pinnick bi-amped approach, the super clear and spanky tone, the typical Ampeg SVT 'rock bass' thing, the grungy distorted stuff, I've even tried just a DI (as well as many combinations of all the above)...

I've tried going over some of my favourite bass tones in an attempt to emulate them, but that's got me nowhere. What tends to happen is I'll go for a tone that I love, nail it, and then really struggle to fit it in the mix (which isn't surprising really, it's about context, and what sounds great in one band won't sound great in another).

Anybody else ever had this problem? How did you overcome it?

·
Guiterrorizer
15,696 Posts