Metal Guitarist Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Black Metal Bunny
1,144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just started programming some drums tracks. I tap them out on the keyboard and then go in and edit the timing. But everything is super loud (velocity 127).

I'm thinking, it's probably better to have the drum volume lower but the track volume higher (which would produce the same playback volume) because this still allows for parts with increased volume.

So how loud should the "normal" drum parts be?

·
Read Only
10 Posts
:lol: Well for starters, don't have all of your velocities at 127 man. Velocity is not the volume control.

·
NSLALP
13,286 Posts
Listen to the tone of the hits, not the volume. 117 sounds a lot different than 127. Go for the right tone/compression and allow really hard accents to be full-on 127s, etc.

·
Black Metal Bunny
1,144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Listen to the tone of the hits, not the volume. 117 sounds a lot different than 127. Go for the right tone/compression and allow really hard accents to be full-on 127s, etc.
Are you talking about how the sample played changes based on the velocity? I noticed that when I hit some of them hard (cymbals, for instance) it sounds different than if I hit it more softly.

·
Premium Member
5,213 Posts
yeah everything at 127 will sound horrible. Im sure theres a better way to do it but if you want more percieved volume from drums i just double track them all by duplicating all the tracks. Keeps the dynamics and makes them loud in the mix.

im no expert though.

·
Pallin' around
9,532 Posts
Wirelessly posted

I don't really understand the question here :scratch:

Velocity should be used as a measurement of how hard the drummer hits, and it affects the drum tone. If you want it louder, you can side chain stuff. I add parallel compression to the kicks, snare, and toms and reverb on parallel to the cymbals and snare. Then you mix the wet tracks and dry tracks together to taste.

Hope that helps

·