Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Safe Spaces Advocate
3,125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys -

Over the last couple years, I've gone through equipment like shit through a goose the day after taco Thursday. I'm sure part of it is a love of interesting, new stuff. Part of it, though, was hunting for a particular sound or tone. And, as a beginner, I often think the tone comes from gadgets.

As I've gotten better I've learned that a great deal of that tone comes from my hands and my instrument (get your damned minds out of the gutter.) Lately, I've gone to playing my DC through the Lone Star's drive channel with nothing more than a Boss RV-6 Reverb. That doesn't mean that's all I'll ever need, but I'm left thinking that some of my pedals are... well, superfluous.

I'm also considering creating another, smaller, pedal board - perhaps one overdrive, one reverb, and one fuzz. Jesus, I want to bust into "One Bourbon, One Scotch, One Beer" all of a sudden.

Should I dump the extra pedals or box them up and stick them on a shelf? My current board includes: Keeley Dyno My Roto, Keeley Oxblood, Keeley Red Dirt, Boss RV-6 Reverb, Catalinbread Katzenkönig Fuzz/Distortion, MXR Phase 90, MXR Carbon Copy.

·
Dream Crusher
21,053 Posts
If you need the money or want something else, sell. Otherwise, I'd keep, as this sort of thing is cyclical (especially if you have pedals you particularly like/are attached to).

·
Premium Member
7,286 Posts
Gear and instruments = Tone
Hands and fingers = Playing Style

Those two are separate things. The two things combined could be described as "sound"... Like, you know, when somebody hears a band and says "that band has a great sound" its a combination of all the band does.

There's "toneknobs" on amps and guitars, and there's "tonewood", and there's "vintage tone pickups" and etc etc.
Where's the "tonefingers"?

Even a pick/plectrum is part of GEAR. How it's used, is part of PLAYING STYLE.