Metal Guitarist Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
4,429 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm doing a pickup swap, I've never done this before, and its in my Ibanez prestige so I REALLY don't wanna mess it up. I just was hoping for a few tips/tricks/what not to do from people more experienced than myself. any how-to guides are extremely appreciated obviously!

·
Special Measures
70 Posts
TBH, it is just a few wires and its pretty hard to get it wrong. The best way is to make sure you've planned out what you're going to do before you start the job. Pretty much all pickup manufacturers have wiring diagrams on their sites to help you out.

Also be aware that different pickup manufacturers have different colour coding on the wires so you may need to check out what colours go where etc. instead of copying what is already there.

·
Dream Crusher
21,053 Posts
Make sure you have the correct wiring diagram and color codes for your brand of pickups.

Pay attention to where wires go; it's likely that you will be putting the new wires in the same places.

Getting stuff grounded to the back of a pot is a pain in the ass. There's a knack to it, but it can take a while to get, and make sure you leave enough excess stripped wire on the ground to miss once or twice.

·
NICE BLACKMACHINE YO
7,276 Posts
What soldering iron do you have? I despise the pointed tips you get on most irons as they suck for actually transferring a decent amount of heat. I use bevelled tips like this:

Always pre-tin your wires.

When soldering to pots, tremolo claws and contacts, it is important to get the surface hot. The solder will flow to the iron easily and can clump on the wire but give a bad contact. You want to heat the area you are soldering enough that the solder flows onto the area effortlessly. And it really does flow.

Don't get anything too hot, watch your temperature - if you're melting the pvc covering on the wires it's too hot!

Practice on old pickups and pots if you can.

·